Nothing The Great Dismal
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Scoot
October 13th 2021


20941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i haven't heard a more impactful opener than a fabricated life in years



it was such a jarring change up from what you're used to on these types of albums (i.e. would be something you'd normally hear as a closer). they gambled and it paid off in spades

Sowing
Moderator
October 13th 2021


40005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah that's still my favorite song off the record as well as my favorite thing Nothing has ever done, period

JayEnder
October 13th 2021


12302 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[2] such a simple song, yet somehow so emotionally impactful that it leaves me breathless every time I listen to it.



Have you guys heard the B-Sides by chance? Pretty cool bonus tracks if you're interested. The title track especially

Digging: HRVRD - The Inevitable And I

Sowing
Moderator
October 13th 2021


40005 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

See previous page

loveisamixtape
October 13th 2021


11265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

fabricated life still pretty bottom tier for me, don’t really understand the hype. the redeeming factor is Mary lattimore feature

JayEnder
October 13th 2021


12302 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nice Sowing! Yeah, couldn't help myself from 5'ing this despite Bernie Sanders making the cut instead of the t/t.



I basically said the exact same thing last page haha I'm losing it.

YoYoMancuso
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2021


15223 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

La La Means I Love You is boring but the other two slap

loveisamixtape
October 14th 2021


11265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i actually really like La La, the video makes it for me. as far as the literal song goes, the chorus vocal harmony is so nice

timothybateman
October 16th 2021


16 Comments


How is ask the rust not the favorite here. Whole album
Slaps hard but damn ask the rust is sooooo good

loveisamixtape
October 16th 2021


11265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

last few songs are the best for sure. ask the rust has always been top 3



just a story is v underrated too, doesn’t sound like anything else by them. in blueberry memories still is my most favorite

Masochist
October 20th 2021


9112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I stand by my opinion that "Bernie Sanders" is a great song. Not the best on here, but only because there are so many bangers.



That being said, I'd love to see a B-Side replacement blog and how it would change the album. Also fully agree that the title track should have ended the album.

Pangea
October 20th 2021


7727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there isn't anything i hate in bernie sanders but it's just so. unnoteworthy

Digging: Spellling - The Turning Wheel

Scoot
October 21st 2021


20941 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

check out cursetheknife and som, both bands are v influenced by these guys

jemaiseyeti
November 27th 2021


170 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Man, this is a fantastic album

JayEnder
November 28th 2021


12302 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

[2] my fav from 2020

loveisamixtape
December 14th 2021


11265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

excited to see them tomorrow. the last time was with torche in 2015 and i couldn’t hear for a week

loveisamixtape
January 5th 2022


11265 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

aaron is stepping down to focus on his kid. i wonder who their new bassist will be

JayEnder
January 5th 2022


12302 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Damn that sucks, but totally understandable. So I guess that means Jesus Piece is on hiatus now?

DavidYowi
January 5th 2022


2086 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Has there been talk of a second Jesus Piece album at all? Either way I wish the best for Aaron

Digging: Mefitis - Offscourings



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy