Nothing The Great Dismal
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Scoot
January 26th 2021


20428 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fabricated life should be the closer, only thing stopping this from being a 5



bernie Sanders is for sure the weakest song but even so it's still a 3.5

Digging: Joshua Burnside - Into the Depths of Hell

Pikazilla
January 26th 2021


15018 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

send us the coordinates

sixdegrees
January 26th 2021


11123 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

How bored are you rn

Masochist
January 26th 2021


9029 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"fabricated life should be the closer, only thing stopping this from being a 5"



The absolute truth. Well, I don't think I'd put it as a 5, but this is one of the biggest examples that I have in recent memory where the track order actually brings the whole album down slightly. "A Fabricated Life" is an amazing song, but I don't want to listen to it first thing. It should absolutely be the last song, and if the album had started off with "Say Less" or, say, "Famine Asylum," I feel that the album would be much stronger overall.



Still, there are a lot of great songs on here, and this is an outstanding record as it is right now. I can't say I enjoy it more than the previous two yet though.



Also...fuck you mean, "Bernie Sanders" is an awesome song, certainly not the weakest on the album. It reminds me of something Ride might produce.

sixdegrees
January 26th 2021


11123 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I think it’s a nice switch up as it’s the type of song they’ve been doing as a closer for some time





JayEnder
January 26th 2021


9259 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pika I would love to just squeeze your malnourished skull until it pops like a day old balloon

JesperL
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2021


2473 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

3.9 avg cheers kids are crying

i am kids

Digging: Bathe Alone - Last Looks

9Hammer
January 26th 2021


347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah, there's the 3.9 spike.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2021


33127 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

was this a 4 or a 3.8 before I can't remember?

Digging: Go!Go!7188 - Tategami

parksungjoon
January 26th 2021


27613 Comments


https://tinyurl.com/y5ts3oet

Digging: The Sisters of Mercy - Temple of Love / Heartland

9Hammer
January 26th 2021


347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It was hovering around a 4 (3.96) for a little while last time I checked.

Pangea
January 27th 2021


5863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a fabricated life is perfect as an opener

Digging: Pharoah Sanders - Karma

YoYoMancuso
January 27th 2021


13547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Can't bump this because of Ask the Rust, sad about the average tho



a fabricated life is perfect as an opener [2] this was my first Nothing album so the curveball that it threw me when the rest of the album went super hard was a nice surprise

loveisamixtape
January 28th 2021


9715 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a fabricated life and bernie sanders are the two most skippable songs agreed

JayEnder
January 28th 2021


9259 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Nah, Fabricated Life is top three songs easy. Next to Blueberry Mems + Blue Mecca

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2021


44685 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

yea



last two tracks are the easy weak point here for me, not bad but they whimper out a little bit after the Blue/Blue combo

Digging: Hayley Williams - FLOWERS for VASES / descansos

YoYoMancuso
January 28th 2021


13547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ask the Rust straight up copy-pastes some melodies from Famine Asylum





Blue Mecca has grown on me so much these last few listens

YoYoMancuso
January 28th 2021


13547 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

My full ranking best to worst



Famine Asylum

Blue Mecca

Catch a Fade

Blueberry Memories

Fabricated Life

April Ha Ha

Say Less

Just a Story

Bernie Sanders

Ask the Rust

JayEnder
February 1st 2021


9259 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Back to a 4 baby. As it should be.

JayEnder
February 1st 2021


9259 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

@Mancuso bro, Ask the Rust is your least favorite???



It's so fuckin heavy and trippy. Great closer, but I agree with Scoot that Fabricated Life should have been the closer 100%



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy