Adrianne Lenker songs
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ChoccyPhilly
October 26th 2020


12886 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's pretty but that's about it sadly

Digging: Soft Kill - Dead Kids R.I.P. City

AsleepInTheBack
Contributing Reviewer
October 26th 2020


6709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

disagreement ensues



completely get where you're coming from with the For Emma reference, Blush. Reminds me a little of Laura Stevenson's The Big Freeze or Angelo de Augastine's Swim inside the Moon. Has an earthy and kind of drab/minimalistic aesthetic, yet also feels very reassuring and warm. Love the flourishes that the birds and fire/rain etc. bring, too; quite right to focus on it in your last para. The cut off at the end of the last track feels very Phil Elvrum, gets me in the chest.

Bedex
October 26th 2020


2453 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

oh cool this is out gotta check it

Digging: Todd Terje - Mjondalen Diskoklubb

theBoneyKing
October 26th 2020


19671 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Might like instrumentals more than this tbh

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 26th 2020


26122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn fine review

Digging: Tired Lion - Breakfast for Pathetics

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 26th 2020


36215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This grew on me a tad. Love the lyrics and 'Zombie Girl' is just gorgeous, certainly one of the best things to ever come from Lenker/Big Thief.

Digging: Seahaven - Halo of Hurt

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2020


3513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Reminds me a little of Laura Stevenson's The Big Freeze or Angelo de Augastine's Swim inside the Moon."

Yeah, those are great points of comparison. I'd be really interested in hearing her do something with very thick, Augustine-like production. Masterpiece is probably the closest to that, though it's very rock-y.

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2020


3513 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Glad you like zombie girl Sowing, that song reminds me a bit of Jackson C Frank.

mvdu
October 27th 2020


934 Comments


I agree that it is pretty. Mostly vocals and guitar, with some songs working better than others. I prefer singer songwriters like Phoebe Bridgers who have more song structure, though I will give this more chances before rating. I would say at least 3.5/5.

I will add that this is one of the best reviews on here.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 27th 2020


26122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I LOVE the instrumentals album

NorthernSkylark
October 27th 2020


10488 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Some damn fine songs here

Digging: Opal - Happy Nightmare Baby

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
October 27th 2020


1472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Had this on for a cursory listen as I was working and can tell I will love it. Excited to return and dive more in depth

Splendid review as always. I love the imagery evoke and just plain unique adjectives you bring into your writing!

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 28th 2020


36215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Huge grower. Wasn't keen on this my first few spins but this thing just wraps me up like a big hug. 'anything' is just heart-melting. I prefer this to anything she's done with BT.

ramon.
October 28th 2020


3759 Comments


currently two songs into this, first time trying lenker, ive been missing out on some gold

review made me rock hard bloosh

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2020


26122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

gets even better after the first few songs imo





Slex
October 28th 2020


10563 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep this is a big winner

Digging: Palm Reader - Sleepless

ashcrash9
October 28th 2020


3120 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ngl I've heard every Big Thief LP a few times over and this is the first time I've felt any emotional connection to Lenker's music



better late than never, I guess

SowingSeason
Moderator
October 28th 2020


36215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Same here. Never understood the hype around Big Thief but this album actually makes me feel things.

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
October 28th 2020


1472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I adore "half return". For some reason it gives me the vibe of some old kid's folk song, like something that would turn into a Ring Around the Rosie

Atari
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2020


26122 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sowing and ash: if you haven't heard her other solo material I highly recommend it as well :]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy