Machine Gun Kelly Tickets to My Downfall
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AlexKzillion
January 20th 2021


12286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still loving this album,,,, movie he put out is pretty terrible tho except the girl is hot

zarling53
February 8th 2021


42 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

there's some fun stuff on here. y'all just overly critical snobs lol

Colton
February 8th 2021


8411 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

can't remember an album in recent memory where people got more upset about other people not liking it

Digging: The Hold Steady - Open Door Policy

AlexKzillion
February 8th 2021


12286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

can't remember an album in recent memory where people got more upset about other people liking it



Colton
February 8th 2021


8411 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

MGK fans are one of the most oppressed groups in modern society

SteakByrnes
February 8th 2021


22559 Comments


I only heard what he played at the new year's performance live and it was atrocious

Digging: Taeko Onuki - Sunshower

zarling53
February 8th 2021


42 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

all i'm saying is this aint that bad. if you don't like it i get it. but at the same time if the album didn't have mgk's name on it most people would just say "meh" and move on.

Colton
February 8th 2021


8411 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I mean it has a 2.5 average so it seems like “meh” is the general reaction, but you might be right that it would do a little better under a different name

outliers
February 8th 2021


1999 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

" if the album didn't have mgk's name on it"



well yeah this is half assed 2000s pop punk full of the same tired themes down to the damn cover from a mediocre rapper who was only previously relevant because of a diss track lol

AlexKzillion
February 8th 2021


12286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sites like Sput RYM Pitchfork etc are terrible indicators for the reception of this album. This is like the most omnipresent rock album "that actually rocked" since what... Wasting Light? Paramore S/T? Like this is the only distorted guitar music my irl friends even touch. MGK has been out here performing these songs on live tv for like a year now. This thing has been way better received than the gatekeepers and rating sites make it out to be.



And yes... like Zarling said, I do believe it's because the album has MGK's name on it to an extent. Dude has been public enemy no.1 on all these sites for a decade now (which he brought upon himself with his bad music and dumb antics). Kinda jarring to see him completely reshape his style/image and release a good album. If someone like Lil Aaron or Gab3 put this out I think it'd respected way more by these types of communities by virtue of it coming from a new up-and-comer.

SymbolicInTime
February 8th 2021


7060 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"you might be right that it would do a little better under a different name"



Funnily, I think thats the only reason its done as well as it has

SitarHero
February 9th 2021


12783 Comments


His long form music video for this was moderately interesting.

vult
February 9th 2021


347 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

i mean the only reason he has some sort of "respect" is because he works with Travis Barker, and all the generic pop-punk fans lap up anything he touches. basic instrumentals, flat and boring vocals, trite and cliche lyrics. there is very little quality on this album that will give it staying power after the radio stops playing it.



it'd be one thing if this album was left at "meh" and moved on, but the fact that people praise and hold this album to such high regard, it almost feels satirical. not to mention that so many people who like this album become so defensive towards those who panned it.

AlexKzillion
February 9th 2021


12286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"but the fact that people praise and hold this album to such high regard, it almost feels satirical. not to mention that so many people who like this album become so defensive towards those who panned it."



I think a lot of the people (aside from mgk stans) who really stick up for this album do it because this is the only semblance of rock music with teeth in modern pop culture (that isn't being made by some legacy artist like Foo Fighters or Metallica). And it's something a large underbelly of people want but simply aren't getting.



I also think a lot of people have latched onto this similar to how they latch on to Uzi or Travis Scott. They are bona fide rockstars, and people love rockstars. but they don't make "rock" music. MGK does. I was reading online how someone (may have actually been MGK himself) said rock is dead in the mainstream because nobody wants to be a rockstar... and I think MGK proved that person right with this album. Look at that cover art. Look at the videos for these songs. This dude is a rockstar and his album is everywhere. It's just something that nobody else from this generation of music is really doing. He's made this style+image "cool" again for a shit ton of people, even if it only lasts for a little while.

AlexKzillion
February 9th 2021


12286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Think another thing at play here is that this music is typically made by "bands", while MGK is just one person. The people he works with (Travis Barker, Yungblud, Trippie, Halsey etc.) are also very identifiable individuals. I think it's easier for people to connect with individuals over bands these days, which is why "bands" don't really hit it big like this anymore.



I also really like this album cause it kinda makes me think more than most new music... heavily ironic considering how vapid this album is. It's like a launching point for all sorts of discussions.

vult
February 9th 2021


347 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

If this is what “popular rock music with teeth” is coming to, maybe it’s best that it does die.

AlexKzillion
February 23rd 2021


12286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really good video that better explains a lot of my ramblings itt: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xexYSB6hoKY&ab_channel=ThePunkRockMBA

SteakByrnes
February 23rd 2021


22559 Comments


Ah but it's Punk Rock MBA tho, you drive a hard bargain Alex my friend

ian b
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2021


1705 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"we have lil peep at home"

at home:

Digging: Hospital Bracelet - South Loop Summer

outliers
February 23rd 2021


1999 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

So to summarize Punk Rock MBA’s video. Branding and social media followings > musical talent



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy