Deftones Ohms
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TetraVaal
September 25th 2020


314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"this definitely reminds me of White Pony/self-titled era Deftones, but in a good way"



Yep.



Usually when a band is more than several years removed from their most recognized work, and they return to that sound, it yields underwhelming results.



They played down the the return to earlier sounds in interviews leading up to the release, but it sounds like a natural return to that style for them. Doesn't sound forced in the slighted.



'Error' and 'This Link is Dead' could easily fit onto White Pony.

Drummerboy123
September 25th 2020


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As cliche as it is to day this album really does seem to be a perfect summation of their sound to date. There's something for every deftones fan on it so I'd be really surprised if it ends up low on most peoples lists. And then there's some experimentation especially with the bigger emphasis on synths and keys throughout.



Don't think it cracks the top 3 for me but after how mediocre Gore was I'm well happy with it. Also heavily agree with this having some of their best production,

oltnabrick
September 25th 2020


40014 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

The best Deftones album yet

Digging: Your Arms Are My Cocoon - Your Arms Are My Cocoon

BigPleb
September 25th 2020


61515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

There's something here for everyone, I agree with that.



Sonically adventurous for Deftones as well, quite impressive 25+ years into their career.

Lucman
September 25th 2020


4930 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

LOVE the ambience of Pompeji, Pleb! Still a great song, just my least fav here.

Digging: Tired Lion - Breakfast for Pathetics

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 25th 2020


62143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"No beauty school? :/"



i'd put it in the top half

Digging: MYSS KETA - IL CIELO NON E UN LIMITE

SteakByrnes
September 25th 2020


21495 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I still think the artwork sucks

Digging: Oranges - Taxonomy

Lucman
September 25th 2020


4930 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Favourite moment on the whole album? When the guitar kicks in at 3:22 on Error. Goosebumps all the way.

Valkoor952
September 25th 2020


4193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think Frank Maddock gave a good description of the art which perfectly encapsulates why it works for me, lemme see if i can find it

Valkoor952
September 25th 2020


4193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Ohms album art is an iconic rendering of a suspended, chance moment in time. As with Deftones music and lyrics, the definitive meaning of the imagery invites and relies on interpretation from the viewer. From a dreamy gaze above, to sadness, hope, despair, optimism and a longing for connection, the emotions conveyed are endless and infinitely evolving."



Here it is

BigPleb
September 25th 2020


61515 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The lyrics are unusually positive for a Deftones record lol, I gotta say.



Nice to see the lads in a good place.

Valkoor952
September 25th 2020


4193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"When the guitar kicks in at 3:22 on Error. Goosebumps all the way."

The guitar and those high notes that Chino does that remind me of digital bath's chorus is what sells it to me

Tw1ster
September 25th 2020


199 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I am excite

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 25th 2020


62143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

re: art I like the eyes, nice and simple, but the shitty half-tone pattern ruins everything

TetraVaal
September 25th 2020


314 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The smaller resolution makes it look like the face is wearing a plaid shirt.

Lucman
September 25th 2020


4930 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Best Deftones artwork to date. Not afraid to say it.

Valkoor952
September 25th 2020


4193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I still stand behind KNY being their best artwork

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2020


44292 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

these ratings are wild lol album is good

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 25th 2020


62143 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I still stand behind KNY being their best artwork"



I fucks with KNY and SNW for best art, they have a similar colour palette so probs why the former reminds me of the latter

Morningrise767
September 25th 2020


2841 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Best album arts are SNW, KNY and Ohms imo



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy