Deftones Ohms
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BigPleb
September 25th 2020


61478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Genesis is the closest this album comes to DE tbh, mainly cos of the plodding chuggy main riff.



Spell of Mathematics has a little bit of that thrown in there too.

Drummerboy123
September 25th 2020


3104 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn, last 2 minutes of Error is amazing. Hard KNY vibes and some self titled sprinkled in. Really enjoyed it, much better than gore.

Pikazilla
September 25th 2020


12753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oxymoronic comparison from toondude

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 25th 2020


60319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Genesis is a bit of an outlier here"



the radio-ready "Hand That Feeds" of the album kind of thing?



"I feel like, jokes aside, you may find something enjoyable here Pots, as there are elements of SNW and s/t scattered throughout, and almost no sign of DE which you hate soo"



That sounds nice, though tbqh I was thinking about Diamond Eyes the other night and how I really liked some of it my first few listens and I don't remember what exactly happened that set me into a kneejerk turn around. I was gonna re-peep that, KNY, and Gore before this came out to see if my opinion on DE would change after those two but I started with Gore and didn't even make it through the first two songs lol.

Digging: Oklou - Galore

MiloRuggles
Contributing Reviewer
September 25th 2020


840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"someone needs to tell me chino's current BMI before i can determine if i like this or not"



Big [2]



There might be a significant amount of resistance between Stephen and Chino artistically, but they could probably pump a few more Ohms into resisting all-you-can-eat buffets while on tour

Valkoor952
September 25th 2020


4063 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd say Radiant City and Error are the most un-deftones like songs on the whole album

BigPleb
September 25th 2020


61478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gore is mixed horribly, really does damage the record.

Pikazilla
September 25th 2020


12753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I disagree, Radiant City is very wp deftones



One of my favourites on the album

Valkoor952
September 25th 2020


4063 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@Pots

Gore is the worst album no doubt, even Adrenaline is better but KNY and DE have some really good stuff in there so you should give them a spin sometime yeah

Pikazilla
September 25th 2020


12753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I can imagine potsy digging sextape and beauty school

BigPleb
September 25th 2020


61478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Radiant City reminds me of Streep Carp/Elite off of WP, full of energy.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 25th 2020


60319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I liked KNY based off the like 2 listens I ever gave it felt more align with the style of deftones I liked when I was a kid than DE was but yeah Gore a snore

Pikazilla
September 25th 2020


12753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Such a fucking banger, that song



Honestly, this link and radiant city are a game deftones

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 25th 2020


60319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I can imagine potsy digging sextape and beauty school"



I used to hate sextape, like I know it was my least fav song on that alb at some point, but who knows how I'd feel now

onionbubs
September 25th 2020


12695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

koi is their least consistent album but its high points are incredible

Digging: Deftones - Ohms

Pikazilla
September 25th 2020


12753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

really? I thought you'd hate t/t or rocket skates the most tbh

Valkoor952
September 25th 2020


4063 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"the radio-ready "Hand That Feeds" of the album kind of thing?"



It just feels like (someone said this about gore) you gave an AI to write a deftones song and this is what it came up with. And I'm also kinda annoyed of the lethargic chugfest of a main riff, but thankfully not too many instances where they repeat that on here (maybe Urantia is most noticeable but I don't mind it all that much there tbh)

Pikazilla
September 25th 2020


12753 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, koi has entombed and rosemary, but then it also has fucking swerve city, romantic dreams and what happened

BigPleb
September 25th 2020


61478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Album really does flow exceptionally, perfect tracklisting throughout.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
September 25th 2020


60319 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm listening to rocket skates rn and i don't remember the guitar on this alb sounding so tinny



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy