My Morning Jacket The Waterfall II
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
theBoneyKing
July 16th 2020


19431 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Circuital title track may be my favorite MMJ song.

Digging: The Weakerthans - Reconstruction Site

Sunnyvale
July 16th 2020


1752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The title track to Circuital does indeed rule.



I really like Welcome Home, definitely one of the highlights of this record for me

AnimalsAsSummit
July 18th 2020


5099 Comments


will check it out, band confirmed rules.

Digging: Post Millenial Dreams - Una réplica de cosas grandiosas

nuklearmoose
July 18th 2020


85 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Overall, nothing stands out too much yet, but there were some parts that I enjoyed. His voice sounded a bit different to me, (I haven't listened to any of MMJ's stuff beyond Z though).

TheWatchman71
July 19th 2020


146 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0



Up to a 4.0 for me. More spins have resulted in this growing a lot more. Lots of different vibes going on here all the while remaining a fairly subdued and mellow journey. Just erase Climbing the Ladder which is just so out of sync with the overall feeling of the album, with its sprightly country twang guitar. And The First Time I find the music relaxing but ultimately uninspired with a fairly dull vocal performance.



Highlights:



Love the final section in Still Thinkin when it suddenly slows down, goes all atmospheric with the keyboard, sax and the odd crunch of a guitar. A song of two halves but I love the sudden change. It’s almost like 50% Beatles jumping into 50% Pink Floyd.



Feel You has been digging deep for me. All the understated power of Neil Young’s On The Beach or Everybody Knows this is Nowhere. Probably my favourite here.



Run It with a real Bill Withers soul vibe. Perfect easy listening. Likewise Welcome Home which I wasn’t too fond of initially, but it definitely works within the context of the album with its mellow country/folk sound bringing things back down to earth after the gritty psyche-rock of Wasted. A final rock-out flourish before the albums draws to a close.

Sunnyvale
July 26th 2020


1752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Spinning My Wheels is such a nice opening track

tom79
July 30th 2020


3761 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Indeed it's a wonderful opening track. I think the bookends on here are the best, although I really enjoy Run It as well.

Digging: Bright Eyes - Down in the Weeds, Where the World Once Was

theBoneyKing
July 30th 2020


19431 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ngl this fell out of rotation pretty quick.

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2020


18969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

This begins and ends nicely. First two songs and Feel You are so good.

Digging: Fleet Foxes - Shore

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 30th 2020


35789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Almost every song here rules tbh

Digging: Fleet Foxes - Shore

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 30th 2020


35789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

1. "Spinning My Wheels" - 4/5

2. "Still Thinkin’" - 5/5

3. "Climbing the Ladder" - 4.5/5

4. "Feel You" - 4.5/5

5. "Beautiful Love (Wasn’t Enough)" - 4/5

6. "Magic Bullet" - 4.5/5

7. "Run It" - 4.5/5

8. "Wasted" - 5/5

9. "Welcome Home" - 4/5

10. "The First Time" - 4/5

TalonsOfFire
Staff Reviewer
July 30th 2020


18969 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I don't care for 3, 5, or 7 all that much. Magic Bullet is a fun funk influenced track. I appreciate that they brought back their big rock sound on Wasted, that's a highlight.

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 30th 2020


35789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The tempo shift in Climbing the Ladder is one of many album highlights for me

Sunnyvale
July 30th 2020


1752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Climbing The Ladder has grown on me, I thought it was a bit of a misstep initially. My top four tracks would probably be Spinning My Wheels, Run It, Wasted, and Welcome Home.

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 16th 2020


35789 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

this literally does not have a single mediocre track



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy