The 1975 Notes on a Conditional Form
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
trackbytrackreviews
May 22nd 2020


3427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This band is at its best when they’re trying to be 80s as possible

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 22nd 2020


34478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"in today's streaming pick-and-choose era i tend to be pretty forgiving of overly bloated albums if there's a 5/5 hidden in there, so perhaps i will check this out"

Totally get this angle, but there's nothing more frustrating than wasting your time with a million songs waiting for the good ones to come around, and then having to ultimately do what everyone here is gonna do - create a playlist with the best 10-14 songs. I get that sales/streams make the world go 'round, but this just feels unnecessary.

Digging: Killing Joke - Absolute Dissent

TundraL5Z
May 23rd 2020


4218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@noler you just perfectly described my brother lmao, is a great musician etc. then got into this band now all that does is imitations of this band

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
May 23rd 2020


18834 Comments


or maybe everyone has different tastes and different people will prefer a different 10-14 tracks than you do :/

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2020


43738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

y'all wild in here their "ambient filler" is their best work. who needs yet another album of rehashed 80s worship lol

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 23rd 2020


34478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's what I was trying to get at. Everyone will create their own versions of this, but almost no one will listen to the 22 songs in order. It's a different way of marketing music, more modern for sure, but definitely not my preference.

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 23rd 2020


34478 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"y'all wild in here their "ambient filler" is their best work. who needs yet another album of rehashed 80s worship lol"

There's a few ambient/electronic songs here I really dig but I couldn't pick the rest apart if my life depended on it. Also I'm all about the 80s worship haha

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
May 23rd 2020


18834 Comments


its definitely weird I'll give it that. idk I haven't heard this yet so I don't have a take yet hahaha

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2020


43738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

my top songs from here are all the electronic ones (Frail State of Mind, I Think There's Something You Should Know and Tonight I Wish I Was Your Boy are my best 3) which tracks because they're the most like the early EPs



I love Too Shy and Its Not Living as much as anyone but I think a full album of that style would be insufferable hah

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2020


43738 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

anyways have this it makes all other playlists redundant (I kid, but I would've rated an album like this obscenely high)



https://open.spotify.com/playlist/08MtWc3J7mh2B6uoN94ZQP?si=h99GFd4FR5iMIcLY3apHsw

nolerthebowler
May 23rd 2020


4542 Comments


Chocolate is still easily the best song these guys have ever come up with

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
May 23rd 2020


18834 Comments


I Always Wanna Die (Sometimes) is their best tho

Slugboiiii
May 23rd 2020


45 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I Always Wanna Die (Sometimes) is their best tho



Big agree

BeeRyan
May 23rd 2020


1451 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Iliwys is an 11/10 imo, and I don't think either of these last ones came close to the magic of that one but I love the messiness

Arcade
Staff Reviewer
May 23rd 2020


157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Too Shy, Me and You Together, and Something You Should Know are near perfect songs



not sure why there needed to be so much meandering uk garage and alt-country fluff in between

Digging: Freddie Gibbs and The Alchemist - Alfredo

TundraL5Z
May 23rd 2020


4218 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There electronic experimental ambient stuff is their best stuff

veninblazer
May 23rd 2020


11663 Comments


Ugh, should I really listen to this or use it as an objectivity booster? This band is pretty bad lmao

Digging: Paradise Lost - Obsidian

markjamie
May 23rd 2020


18 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Surprising. I enjoyed this very much. I 've always struggled to embrace The 1975, feeling like they're (just a little bit) shit and that I'm being dirty by listening to them. I've really enjoyed songs here and there, but there's always been a few on each album that make me not want to listen again. Given the length, and extremely mixed reviews, I expected this and more.

But I like it. A lot. I'm a sucker for atmosphere and the interludes enhance as far as I'm concerned.

It's very playful, and FULL of ideas, and inventiveness, and maybe I'm ready to let go and embrace my inner 1975.

Or maybe I'll come to my senses in a week or two and say, "What were you thinking!"



bloc
May 23rd 2020


61043 Comments


I feel like they just put out an album like 6 months ago

Digging: Cut Copy - I Thought Of Numbers

bloc
May 23rd 2020


61043 Comments


Fuckin hell this is a long album



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy