Animal Collective Spirit They're Gone, Spirit They've Vanished
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2017


18532 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sung Tongs, in turn, is the college dropout living in a studio apartment with three other high school buddies who record their freak folk night jams on their four-track every Sunday evening from 8pm to 1am.

Digging: Jason Molina - Pyramid Electric Co.

SandwichBubble
September 25th 2017


9335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

You don't have to go to college, after all. Nothing says wise like a 20-something-year-old.



And since I'm talking about it in another thread, Campfire songs is the one left in the forest for everyone to forget about but ended up being a well-respected member of society regardless.

Digging: Samara Lubelski - In The Valley

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2017


18532 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Campfire Songs is the Nature Boy !!

SandwichBubble
September 25th 2017


9335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

More Mowgli, less George of the jungle

StallionMang
January 11th 2018


8925 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i think i get it now

SandwichBubble
January 11th 2018


9335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's the spirit.

Corney
January 26th 2018


186 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

God damn! This album blew me away. Might be my favorite Animal Collective album after more listens.

SandwichBubble
January 26th 2018


9335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

That's the spirit. [2]

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2018


16680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

there's something really cool about "spirit they've vanished" being the first ever animal collective song (or whatever, first avey panda song)

SandwichBubble
February 15th 2018


9335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It does set the stage for a pretty good stretch of albums. Spirit → Feels can't be beat

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
February 15th 2018


16680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Even though it's pretty extreme it's also just a great "summation" somehow of the things they (were?) interested in as I see it. Perfect mix of offputting outre sounds and a childlike softness/wonder

SandwichBubble
August 30th 2018


9335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Are we just gonna leave this album unbumped?

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
August 30th 2018


18532 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

are we

SandwichBubble
August 30th 2018


9335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Ah good we aren't, I can go to bed then

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
August 30th 2018


16680 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Has anyone heard the early “rock” version of “penny dreadfuls”? It sounds like pavement’s “grounded”

SandwichBubble
August 31st 2018


9335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Really dig that version. Geo is the man for unearthing those.

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2018


2473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i've probably said this before but that screeching sine/feedback/whatever in Spirit They've Vanished magically went from being horrendous, to slightly offputting, to one of the most gorgeous things i've ever heard. i like the rest of this well enough but that track man. IT'S HARD TO JUST KISS OUR CHILD GAMES GOODBYEEEEEEEE

Digging: Sun Kil Moon - I Also Want to Die in New Orleans

SandwichBubble
October 14th 2018


9335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The proper term is "noise salad" thank you very much

But yeah, it grows on you.

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2018


2473 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that's one noise salad i wouldn't mind tossing

SandwichBubble
October 14th 2018


9335 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't think I have a disgusted enough emoji for that sentence

So here's an aroused one (I think): 😩



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy