The Afghan Whigs Gentlemen
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
NorthernSkylark
May 3rd 2017


9440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Debonair > anything

Digging: Amon Duul II - Yeti

Gyromania
December 25th 2017


27908 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Idk what people see in this. Sounds like generic rock to me

Digging: black midi - Schlagenheim

ShadowRemains
December 26th 2017


25015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

there's not a whole lot that is generic about this, idk what you're listening to

hcoaster94
March 2nd 2018


8 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Honestly cannot understand what everyone's going on about. Couldn't get into this record. IMO, an otherwise would-be decent record marred by awfully grating vocals.

bgillesp
March 7th 2018


7015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Going through this Discog again a few more times before I see these guys in April. I'm so excited and also this record is awesome

butcherboy
March 7th 2018


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

last time I saw Dulli was with the Gutter Twins.. he always puts on a great live show, gilly, you're in for a treat!

bgillesp
March 7th 2018


7015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I hope so! They're co-headlining with Built to Spill which I'm not too excited about, but I hope the Whigs play first so I can leave after if I feel like it. One thing I like so much about these guys is I can never figure out my favorite song on a record. They're all great.

butcherboy
March 7th 2018


9464 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

if you haven't already, check this old footage of My Curse.. may be my favourite off this, and Marcy Mays sings it with them here:



https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aSZKlAAUfR8

bgillesp
March 7th 2018


7015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Will give it a play as soon as the album ends! Cheers

bgillesp
March 7th 2018


7015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Good stuff good stuff

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 7th 2018


16351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't wait to dig deeper into these guys

bgillesp
March 7th 2018


7015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

One of my fav bands ever now, so I say go for it!

TVC15
August 2nd 2018


10061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Debonair kicks so much ass

Digging: Lingua Ignota - Caligula

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 4th 2018


16351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hmmmmm so for I actually prefer In Spades

TVC15
September 5th 2018


10061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The combination of the band name and In Spade’s album art made me think these guys were a metal band for the longest time

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2018


16351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol nice, but yeah I think In Spades clicks way better than this, this is much less immediate and memorable for me

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2018


16351 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"When We Two Parted" and "Now You Know" are 2nd listen faves

bgillesp
September 11th 2018


7015 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This one is third best until about 8 listens when it moves to tied for 2nd. Gotta get on black love. Best from listen 3 and on

Papa Universe
September 11th 2018


22115 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

eh, it's a 4.5 anyway, so I'm satisfied

TVC15
September 11th 2018


10061 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

IT’S IN OUR HEART

IT’S IN OUR HEAD

IT’S IN OUR LOVE

BB IT’S OUR BED



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy