White Stones Kuarahy
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2020


16982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I found this largely flat throughout - the ex-Opeth-ian hype really didn't help either."

I believe many people will have a similar opinion, it's a polarizing album. I love the songs, Drowned in Time, for example, is a great jam.



"Anyway, to put this side to side with Opeth's work feels just wrong,..."

It's inevitable D, but I'm with you, this is a great jam.

Digging: Obscura - A Valediction

DDDeftoneDDD
April 2nd 2020


19431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

If you guys wanna go down that road XD...I could go as far as saying this is way more enjoyable than PC and Sorceress...It may not have the adventurous nature of Cauda (or the new Opeth in general)..but maybe its not meant to, on the other side its groovier and focused on a single vibe. (not counting Heritage here, cause I adore that album)

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
April 2nd 2020


15681 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Let's face it. For critical value to be a thing it needs to be compared to something... So the Opeth comparison comes naturally and is pretty relevant as far as this goes.

Digging: Obscura - A Valediction

DDDeftoneDDD
April 2nd 2020


19431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Just did it as far as I could (and coherently with my rates), you just can t compare this type of jam with Opeth's (near)masterpieces .!. (I won't face it XD)



This has some values/qualities that can be shaded by those comparisons...As Notrap mentioned in his rev:



"As we move beyond this more central stylistic and creative analysis, we'll have to look at the songs without prejudice, focusing only on what they can offer, whether good or bad."



Otherwise, I feel like I'm watching some soap opera...

SrpskiCekic
June 18th 2021


90 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm just mad that it's originally Mendez who pitched the idea of scrapping DM sound after Watershed to Mikael. And now, he's like SIKE IMMA MAKE A DM SIDE PROJECT.



Anyway, new album just announced, let's see how it works out.



New single: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sL16VQsD0ec



And ironically, this sounds extremely like Heritage.

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
June 18th 2021


16982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good news, thanks for sharing.

DDDeftoneDDD
September 14th 2021


19431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

anyone checking the new one?

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2021


16982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not yet. I expect to take a peek over the next couple of weeks.

DDDeftoneDDD
September 14th 2021


19431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

so far adds little to this. I'll need to recheck this one next to it ;)

I think I rather this one (felt fresher, despite all the opeth debate). Kuarahy feels murkier and more hypnotic somehow, but maybe I'm just induced by the cover arts lol.

DDDeftoneDDD
September 14th 2021


19431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

okay sounded it off, see if you feel me, even if you rather it

m/ this one rocks more, while the new one kinda dm's more lol

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2021


16982 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If it's heavier there's a strong possibility that I will enjoy it.

DDDeftoneDDD
September 14th 2021


19431 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

not quite. production values remain the same, I don't think it benefits the writing there. I'm suspect, cause I like this a lot. It rocks you metlaheads XD

It all took for me to put them side to side. Still a worthy jam!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy