Nine Inch Nails Ghosts VI: Locusts
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 28th 2020


43830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

" Haven't listened to that in years but there's no way this is true."



lol how? it's 10 songs long, not exactly hard to fill that runtime. and yeah Freese and Cortini contributed a lot to The Slip but it was still Trent pumping out an album in 3 weeks songwriting-wise. pretty wild

Digging: Grey Daze - No Sun Today

romulanrancor
March 29th 2020


7454 Comments


This is spooky af

madrigal30
March 29th 2020


901 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is amazing

Larkinhill
March 29th 2020


6767 Comments


I got into them with TDS and, I agree with an earlier poster, lotta hot takes in here. Too many to address individually. Suffice to say that TDS isn’t even in the same stratosphere as a 3. It’s a cold hard 5.

EclipseInYourEyes
March 29th 2020


1439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

even though I bumped Ghosts I-IV from 2.5 to 3.5 in preparation for this, these two new album have way more character, while this being the best one. And yeah, The Slip is nice, Hesitation Mark sucks and TDS & Fragile are solid 5s.



Speaking of: I can only recommend getting that Deviations-Version of the Fragile, if you enjoyed this. Insane layering, awesome B-sides and so on.

EclipseInYourEyes
March 29th 2020


1439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

and I forgot to mention that I really liked your reviews.

MiloRuggles
Contributing Reviewer
March 29th 2020


687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Shouts out to Run Like Hell. Fuck I love these two champs. More sax/noise bitte

oltnabrick
March 29th 2020


39528 Comments


the cursed clock is def one of the best NIN songs

Digging: Jasmine Guffond - Microphone Permission

Gyromania
March 30th 2020


30099 Comments


TDS is the only NIN record I've ever connected with and I think it's one of the greatest albums I've ever heard.

Faraudo
March 30th 2020


3495 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

TDS is one of the greatest records ever created, agreed.

Digging: Phoebe Bridgers - Punisher

goblinilbog
March 30th 2020


717 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Really enjoying Run Like Hell but none of the other tracks are jumping out at the moment. Still a very good collection of dark songs.

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 30th 2020


34992 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This album is growing off me compared to V: Together. That piece is less menacing but feels more purposeful - like the ambient moments "arrive" at places worth the wait. Here, it's just a lot of foreboding, meandering passages. Anyone else feel even remotely similarly or am I just crazy? This is still excellent fwiw.

Digging: Geology - Light of the Risen Year

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2020


16449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

I need to jam V a lot more, I haven’t really had chance. But I’m still thoroughly enjoying this one. Honey harper and dua lipa are getting in the way of this now though haha

tinathefatlard
March 30th 2020


1755 Comments


“hay guise”

I’m a NIN n00b, where do I start?

EclipseInYourEyes
March 30th 2020


1439 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Sowing how often did you already listen to it if it's growing off of you already? I mean, it's out for like 2 days or something.

@Tina I would def go with "The Fragile" since it is the most refined work by NIN imo. TDS is also amazing but harsh and kinda menacing.

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2020


16449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

nah, dive right into the downward spiral

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2020


26639 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

and then listen to this anyway because it has none of The Downward Spiral's annoying qualities ;]

Digging: Sweet Trip - You Will Never Know Why

dedex
March 30th 2020


3619 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I liked the first one, but holy hell this is creepy and I love it

Digging: Husker Du - Zen Arcade

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 30th 2020


16449 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

"and then listen to this anyway because it has none of The Downward Spiral's annoying qualities ;]"



piping hot take there

Feather
March 30th 2020


5968 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Almost halfway through VI ... This is menacing. Really excited for the second half after reading your review.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy