Myrkur Folkesange
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
bloodshy
March 25th 2020


114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The melodies seemed too predictable, and i definitely agree with this being a very minimalistic album. It's obvious this was intentional, given her past efforts of contrast, but it really just doesn't do it for me. For what it is, it's very good. Hoping she does more genre searching in the future to land on something else. I did hear her say in an interview once that she would most enjoy another collaboration with lana del rey of all people. So who knows.

Digging: Mamngo - Uxam

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 25th 2020


11905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This sort of sound would probably work well into a Del Rey feature, a full album however, I don't know.

manosg
Staff Reviewer
March 25th 2020


11848 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7 | Sound Off

Very enjoyable listen and really love that she included House Carpenter, which has also been covered by The Pentagle and Joan Baez. Actually, it would be very interesting to listen to a full british folk album by her.



Great read Nocte. Was preparing a review for this one but you did a fine job.

Pangea
March 25th 2020


3702 Comments


i liked the one song i've heard from this. will check

Digging: Kendrick Lamar - good kid, m.A.A.d city

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 25th 2020


18912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Melodies are predictable, but I think that's the point.

Digging: Old Man Gloom - Seminar IX: Darkness of Being

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 25th 2020


18912 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The question is how she performs those melodies, and she definitely excels in that.

garas
March 25th 2020


3761 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"The melodies seemed too predictable" Come on, it is folk music. It's all "predictable" in some way...



And [2] everything Dewi said.

Digging: Impaled Nazarene - Latex Cult

DDDeftoneDDD
March 25th 2020


11036 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

show us some unpredictable true folk!

Digging: Aeternam - Al Qassam

Gameofmetal
Emeritus
March 26th 2020


10727 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the point of folk is to follow musical tradition lmao

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
March 26th 2020


11905 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Was preparing a review for this one but you did a fine job.




Still love to read your thoughts on something like this. Could do with a Manosg review.

bloodshy
March 26th 2020


114 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I'm not familiar enough with "true folk" to know if any of it is less predictable, but i do also think that's what the goal was here for the album. When anything adheres too closely to tradition, it immediately stagnates. Even when it's an under saturated genre. That's how it works for me, anyway.



Still liked the album. ... but the bass never dropped and you don't find out she was actually dead during the whole movie.

Itwasthatwas
March 27th 2020


2281 Comments


I like this, it’s a good fit for her voice



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy