...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead X: The Godless Void and Other Stories
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2020


43417 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

So Divided is worse cmon

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2020


19030 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Agree, give it some time in the back burner Sandwich.



Although I know you never hear an album twice so... RIP.

Digging: Pure Reason Revolution - Eupnea

sixdegrees
January 25th 2020


8794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

so divided was good though

Digging: Goropsy - GOD GAVE ME ONE LIFE AND HE MADE ME UGLY

SandwichBubble
January 25th 2020


11209 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"you never hear an album twice"

Album's already in the rear-view mirror, watch it go.

I might actually listen to this again tomorrow though, it's close to a 2.0.

sixdegrees
January 25th 2020


8794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

that said the nod on "Gravity" to a song off of So Divided threw me off immensely when I heard it

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2020


43417 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

So Divided is like one of my least favourite albums from a band I like tbh. Wasted State of Mind and Witch's Web are the only songs I don't utterly hate

sixdegrees
January 25th 2020


8794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

krazy to me that you hate the GBV cover or title track tbh but whatever



I feel that way about Worlds Apart to an extent, easy lowlight of their career for me

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2020


43417 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

that album's a hot mess, but it has Let It Dive, Caterwaul, The Rest Will Follow all of which I love. it has personality which So Divided is kinda sorely lacking imo

sixdegrees
January 25th 2020


8794 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

it has some salvageable songs but is miserable as an album experience esp the 2nd half



Caterwaul is one of my favorite trail of dead songs though

CugnoBrasso
January 25th 2020


915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Goldheart Mountaintop is the best song off of So Divided.

Worlds Apart is a 4.

This album stinks.

DDDeftoneDDD
January 25th 2020


11139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Album is very OK. Way better than Brand New. Haven t finished yet, it seemed a bit too long.

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

klap
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2020


12261 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

so divided has sunken dreams tho.

Digging: Magdalena Bay - A Little Rhythm and a Wicked Feeling

DDDeftoneDDD
January 26th 2020


11139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Children of the Sky rules pretty much yeah

DDDeftoneDDD
January 27th 2020


11139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I'll add that after the The Opening Crescendo (lol), the first proper track is really bad. For me this starts to heat up somewhere in the middle (Children of the Sky maybe?) and ends up pretty ok. It's somewhat a dated sound but some prog aspects keeps it interesting and scratch somewhat of an old (late 90's) alt rock's hitch...if you have one.

CugnoBrasso
January 27th 2020


915 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agreed, this is like a lesser version of Tao of the Dead, I'm leaning toward a 2.5...

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2020


19030 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah that's pretty much it. I do prefer the first half though.

DDDeftoneDDD
January 27th 2020


11139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

I guess the firs half is also OK...my big issue is with All Who Wander though...crappy way to start an album tbh

WillieD
January 28th 2020


258 Comments


I'm still developing my opinion on this album, but I can say that the sound engineering is pretty bad. Not an enjoyable album to listen to loud.

F1i2s3c4h5e6r7
February 7th 2020


12 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

An enjoyable listen. Not one of their best, but a solid entry in their catalog. More varied than I was expecting.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
February 7th 2020


19030 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It will probably disappear is this year's goodness but yeah solid album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy