Pinegrove Marigold
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Feather
January 21st 2020


5819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Just tiered the album. Not seeing the mass appeal of Endless but its definitely growing. Alcove is really the only thing that does nothing for me, but its pleasant enough.



Perfect:

Spiral, The Alarmist, No Drugs, Phase



Excellent:

Dotted Line, Moment, Hairpin, Neighbor



Good:

Endless, Alcove, Marigold

theBoneyKing
January 21st 2020


18525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That little guitar break around 1:20 into "The Alarmist" is everything.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 21st 2020


1396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

alcove and neighbor have become two of my favorites



i really love when evan does those little pop girl flourishes with his voice. hope he never stops doing that.

Pangea
January 21st 2020


3732 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i didn't care for cardinal but i might try this

Digging: Kendrick Lamar - good kid, m.A.A.d city

joshieboy
January 22nd 2020


7275 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album title just keeps on reminding me about the Nirvana song

theBoneyKing
January 22nd 2020


18525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll say, while I do enjoy this quite a bit, it's a bit lacking in hooks/particularly memorable moments.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2020


25478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rly solid album, hard to pick favorites but Spiral is the cutest thing ahh

Digging: Childish Gambino - 03.15.20

butt.
January 22nd 2020


7070 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

definitely the cutest thing ever. The first 4 consecutive songs all fuck so hard, and in totally different ways. Great pacing/track placement on this thing. I know it's January 22 but there's a strong chance this is top 10 material. We shall see

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2020


1396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i actually think every song has a memorable moment or hook. if i had to pick an exception it would be "no drugs". i like that song but gun to my head it's my least favorite

butt.
January 23rd 2020


7070 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

damn for real?! that's probably my favorite. the guitar work is addicting. got a nice bounce to it and good lyrics too.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2020


1396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i mean, i really love this album, so it's got lots of competition to live up to. it's a good song

theBoneyKing
January 23rd 2020


18525 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

There are moments that I anticipate while I’m listening to this, but they don’t really stick in my head. Evan sounds a bit bored some times too. Idk I hate to be that guy but Cardinal just stands so high in my head and it’s hard for me not to compare this unfavorably to that.

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2020


25478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No Drugs is also my least fav...but def not a bad song

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2020


1396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like cardinal but definitely missed the boat on that one when it came out. I like that they have moved more toward country

Knott-
Emeritus
January 23rd 2020


10230 Comments


This is giving me some softer Weakerthans vibes in places. Is that crazy? Am I crazy?

NB: that means I think it's very very good.

Egarran
January 23rd 2020


15967 Comments


> the best and most useful line he’s ever written: “May no fantasy hold my head up.” And I am struck by how much more true that sentiment becomes with each passing day.

Great review, but tell me more about this.

Digging: Linda Perhacs - Parallelograms

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2020


1396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Be honest with yourself about your flaws. Hold your head up in spite of them, not because you're denying their existence. A useful reminder, at least to me.

JesusCage
January 23rd 2020


358 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The alarmist and phase did it for me. Pretty album all around.



Digging: HMLTD - West of Eden

Conmaniac
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2020


25478 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm scared to know too

hung0ver
January 23rd 2020


16 Comments


Gorgeous record I've not given enough time to yet. Absolutely adored Skylight, so I'm looking forward to letting these songs worm their way into my brain.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy