Fen The Dead Light
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Demon of the Fall
December 11th 2019


14956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't necessarily see the comparison beyond the vague or superficial either, although everyone seems desperate to compare every band with any kind of likeness to Agalloch, to Agalloch… guess it may be the fact they are no longer with us *sniff*.

Digging: Kvelertak - Kvelertak

DungeonBoy
December 11th 2019


7435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's because Agalloch were the pioneers of this romantic nature worshipping "grey" metal type sound (you could also argue Bergtatt was one of the main reasons Agalloch sounded like they did). I would confidently wager that Fen were heavily influenced by Pale Folklore/The Mantle, if you don't hear it though then IDK. I'm not saying they are a clone, if you want a clone listen to Gallowbraid. But bands like Fen, Ashbringer, Falls of Rauros, all borrow from what Agalloch created.

Digging: Holy Fawn - The Black Moon

DungeonBoy
December 11th 2019


7435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know what to think anymore, I really kinda dug this after one listen, but the general consensus seems to be this is not that great compared to their previous work which I personally haven't really enjoyed too much. Perhaps a right place at the right time situation for me with this one

butt.
December 11th 2019


6548 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haven't listened to their old stuff yet, but it's hard for me to see this as anything less than great. It's creative, never really repetitive, good prod, good vocalist, fairly interesting guitar work

Thalassic
December 11th 2019


3946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm also joining the "this is a great album" crowd

dedex
December 11th 2019


1705 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Totally agree with you butt, but (hey, funny) having loved Winter and Carrion Skies this feels a tad streamlined. And this album doesn't impress me as much as other black metal albums released this year so a 3.5 feels good.

DungeonBoy
December 11th 2019


7435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There have certainly been some phenomenal black metal releases this year

Keyblade
December 11th 2019


28541 Comments


wish they'd expand on that ethereal sound with the heavy keys from their debut. they were really raw back then, but with a decade of experience under their belt since then they could prob make a really special album

Morpha
December 12th 2019


137 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

They shouldn't of gone with this awful sound and still flood the album is material its just not a good mix they could of cut the fat at least

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
December 12th 2019


11501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Right??

Thalassic
December 12th 2019


3946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thank fuck for Morpha

Where would we be without his musical wisdom?

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2019


25422 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Best part about this album is the melodiez in Witness, The Dead Light Part 2 and Nebula

Digging: Latterman - No Matter Where We Go...!

DungeonBoy
December 12th 2019


7435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm not an expert on this band... but I really liked the variety throughout, lots of different fusions of ideas that worked cohesively together imo

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 12th 2019


25422 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

That’s fair! It’s just the melodies that sold me on this. Could still grow more

teamster
December 13th 2019


4604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Aren’t you staff yet? Do it.

Digging: Oh Hiroshima - Oscillation

ProjectFreak
December 13th 2019


4075 Comments


y'all are blasting this for being, I think, too typical for 'pretty black metal' but...idk these are some good melodies. Probably somewhere between 3.5 and 4, but I like this better than the monotonous blastbeats-only stuff

teamster
December 13th 2019


4604 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This band could make an entire album consisting of clean vocals, tremolo picked guitars, soft electronics and airy, spacious interludes and it would be the best sounding experience ever. They are the masters in the genre.

SrpskiCekic
December 16th 2019


34 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Tbh, when a band pioneers with their sound, and creates a legion of bands that copy or are inspired by it, it becomes a sub genre. So, Agalloch, Tool, Opeth etc are genres of their own with how many have been inspired by their sound.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
December 16th 2019


11501 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

There's nothing wrong with a bit of second and third wave black metal

DungeonBoy
December 16th 2019


7435 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

After four listens, this album is fantastic and makes me want to dive deeper into their previous stuff. I might appreciate it more after digging this one so much. I found this album to be very engaging, really well-written throughout, and the recording is superb. Good stuff, might make my top 10 end of the year list tbh.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy