Fen The Dead Light
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2019


21217 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Will keep one open eye just in case

Digging: Hallas - Conundrum

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2019


12850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Sounds like a plan honestly.

Confessed2005
December 10th 2019


5166 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is great but Winter was better.

Demon of the Fall
December 10th 2019


16836 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Can a mod please redirect this sound-off, so it displays under the correct release? (wherever that is), as this is clearly some sort of error...



'Wow over 70 minutes of pure Bordem where they changed to an awful sound and sound like every other horrible prog metal garbage please make this trash not exist'



Lol.

Digging: Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin

SrpskiCekic
December 10th 2019


47 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I get the same feeling from this and Insomnium- both albums are good, but pale in comparison with their previous albums, Winter and Winter's Gate.

dedex
December 10th 2019


4603 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Is there a pattern here? If a metal band release an album with Winter in it, their next one will be m'kay but not wow.

Digging: Damso - QALF

CaptainDooRight
December 10th 2019


4342 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

3-3.5

butt.
December 10th 2019


7865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

3.5 - 4.0

Digging: Necrot - Mortal

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
December 10th 2019


12850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

3.3 - 3.5

DungeonBoy
December 10th 2019


7938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Enjoyed your review dude, assuming my rating will be similar based on past experiences with these dudes, but always worth a shot

Demon of the Fall
December 10th 2019


16836 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, I love Winter and this is simply decent to me, take that how you want.

DungeonBoy
December 10th 2019


7938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this band loves those jarring transitions. Yeah dude, Winter I thought was their best since their EP, but still not enough to sell me personally. They are like a more proggy Agalloch, a progalloch if you will, but you probably won't.

butt.
December 10th 2019


7865 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I will

DungeonBoy
December 10th 2019


7938 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

ah, my dear butt!

Atari
Staff Reviewer
December 10th 2019


26009 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is getting better after some more listens. To be fair none of their albums have been very immediate to me

Digging: Disavowed - Revocation of the Fallen

dwightfryed
December 11th 2019


123 Comments


By leaning heavily on the guitar melodies and driving, bleaker rhythms the band combines the more Alcest-y (loosely) shoegaze harmonies to take a centre stage while acknowledging the music that came before it (particularly in the album’s opener).

awkward, but I get the point.

I, Voidhanger rules.

AnimalsAsSummit
December 11th 2019


5092 Comments


Nice Project Fishbowl album art

Digging: Post Millenial Dreams - Una réplica de cosas grandiosas

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
December 11th 2019


12850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

You're right dwight., could probably re-work the shit out of that.

OminousHaiku
December 11th 2019


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do people really think Fen sounds like Agalloch? Sure they are moving in the same general sphere, but both actually have quite distinct songwriting and sound IMO. Fen can be much heavier at times and have more prog and gaze elements. Agalloch seem a lot more folky to me.



Still digesting this album. Labyrinthine Echoes is superb.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
December 11th 2019


12850 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

The comparison comes pretty easily in influence, since Agalloch is no more people will cling to whatever loose similarity they can find - but in a good way.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile