Alcest Spiritual Instinct
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Egarran
October 29th 2019


23765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just paste that shit in here, dewey.

Digging: Ophidian I - Desolate

Pikazilla
October 29th 2019


17643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I miss the time when this site got like 4-5 reviews for popular releases.

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2019


14577 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Wait a day...

theBoneyKing
October 29th 2019


20712 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review! A couple technical points: “decent” in the first paragraph should be “descend”, also in the second to last paragraph “it’s own beauty” should be “its”. Also, interesting choice to italicize song titles and put album titles in quotes, usually it’s the opposite but I guess that’s not so much wrong as just a stylistic choice.



I’m glad y’all are loving this and while it is starting to grow on me I’m still disappointed. Could be that it’s a bit more standardly metal but I don’t think it’s that, I’m just not feeling the emotion and a lot of this sounds like I’ve heard it before.

Digging: 40 Watt Sun - Wider than the Sky

Dewinged
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2019


24963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Unless they are good album / bad album takes, I am not a fan of writing a review for an album that has been covered already, plenty of albums out there to write about.



Just a personal mania of mine.

Digging: King Woman - Celestial Blues

Pikazilla
October 29th 2019


17643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Boney, you aren't the only one. I'm thinking about lowering my score for this because it's just not up the band's usual standards. Definitely not as good as the first two for sure.

Nocte
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2019


14577 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Worst album of their discog by a fair way. Keeping in mind I'm a long term fan

AxeToFall93
October 29th 2019


301 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"Worst album of their discog by a fair way. Keeping in mind I'm a long term fan"



Nah, no way. This one isn't as good as "Kodama", but it's way better than "Shelter" and the one before.

theBoneyKing
October 29th 2019


20712 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Shelter has at least 4 songs that are better than anything on this and at least that was unique in their discog. This just sounds like a mashup of the weaker parts of Kodama and Voyages.

Ashtiel
October 29th 2019


1220 Comments


apparently there was a limited edition with this stuff on it?

7. Sapphire (Perturbator Version) (05:01)

8. Protection (Ben Chisholm Version) (04:12)

9. Protection (Acoustic Instrumental Version) (06:50)

Pikazilla
October 29th 2019


17643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Voyages is better than this...

qwenta
October 29th 2019


626 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This isn't a great effort. Short in duration and creativity. Protection is the best track for me.

Pikazilla
October 29th 2019


17643 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Autre Temps is better than anything here

theBoneyKing
October 29th 2019


20712 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

^ that and “Faiseurs des mondes” for sure.

Egarran
October 29th 2019


23765 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Interesting. Some people seem to like this more than other people.

Scheumke
October 29th 2019


2085 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Boney: Thanks! Corrected them. It's time I learn to watch for those grammar mistakes, 'cus they almost always seem to pop up.

@Dewi: Sorry buddy. There should be a way to keep track of who's working on what. If I knew I would've let you get it up, pretty much started writing when I saw that it didn't have a review yet and I wanted to talk about it on its own page. I completely get your statement about not having multiple of the same-ish POV's in different reviews for the same album. I tend to avoid them as well.

Toondude10
October 29th 2019


14551 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album

DungeonBoy
October 29th 2019


8349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I felt it was safe to assume a contrib was working on a review, but I can't wait to read an off the wall 2.5 opinion of this.

Digging: Musk Ox - Inheritance

TheSpirit
October 29th 2019


28214 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I agree with Nocte, this album is their weakest by far. Neige is incapable of not singing the same melodies album in and album out.

Digging: Saidan - Jigoku: Spiraling Chasms Of The Blackest Hell

Mongi123
October 29th 2019


20993 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Finally a review! The title track is fucking stunning.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy