Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds Ghosteen
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2020


29257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

i just made the best joke that will be made in this thread and you throw in a ratingpost comment as a fucking pagebreak how dare you i will 5- and 4.5post you to death but not rn oh no it will come at the bottom of another page when you least expect this i hope this haunts you forever your days are numbered buttboy i will go and weep now .

Digging: Dntel - Life is Full of Possibilities

butt.
July 22nd 2020


7975 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hahahahaha

Digging: Iress - Flaw

SandwichBubble
July 22nd 2020


12211 Comments


Whoops, still haven't listened to this.
Maybe next year.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 22nd 2020


29257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

hey there mr. i do discogs

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2020


739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thought this was good but where tf are the Bad Seeds? Its a nick and warren album until deep into the second disc. you could see it coming over the last couple albums but that’s a really disappointing aspect imo.

Digging: Jesu - Pale Sketches

SandwichBubble
July 22nd 2020


12211 Comments


"hey there mr. i do discogs"
Mr. I Do Discogs just can't be bothered, what can I say?
I'll get around to it.
Someday.

parksungjoon
July 22nd 2020


22172 Comments


its ok sandwich

Digging: Have Mercy (MD) - Armageddon Descends

SandwichBubble
July 22nd 2020


12211 Comments


Thanks mom
Now, I'm off to listen to the Dixie Chicks' entire discography.
https://youtu.be/e9vrfEoc8_g?t=44

parksungjoon
July 22nd 2020


22172 Comments


god speed you

Jasdevi087
July 22nd 2020


6354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"thought this was good but where tf are the Bad Seeds?"



playing all the other instruments



hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
July 22nd 2020


739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i mean, i think i might've heard Casey's bass on... Leviathan and Hollywood? there's vibes sometimes. Wylder tracked a bunch of drums but everything was cut except for a minute in the title track. i get this is pretty much an ambient project, it just feels like a nick and warren album. which is fine i just like their band interplay. like if you open up a copy of the album, there's a picture of only the two of them. i don't think they're trying to hide that it's 90% them.

Jasdevi087
July 22nd 2020


6354 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

maybe they are, the bad seeds

heyadam
July 23rd 2020


3540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know they were moving in this direction in general for this “trilogy” of albums, but also I think the minimal style lends itself to the subject matter quite wonderfully. I’m sure they have another rager in them somewhere, tho

porcupinetheater
July 23rd 2020


3913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Who can say, uncharted emotional waters for ol' Nick, and the old Bad Seeds style of snarl and viscera's never been Warren's bag. The rock n' roll they've put out post-Abattoir feels kind of rote, anyway. Grinderman and Dig are never going to be essentials.

JohnnyoftheWell
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


29257 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Yeah, the best bits of Dig were often the least rocky I thought

porcupinetheater
July 23rd 2020


3913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ain’t that the truth, Johnny. More News From Nowhere’s a catalog classic. Their old raucous stuff’s interesting for the noise/blues parallel influence, and Bargeld and Harvey were huge parts of that. Cool as it would be to hear that style revisited well, this is a different Bad Seeds



Edit: Plus this 2010’s run was phenomenal and I’d miss the style if it was gone

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


44151 Comments

Album Rating: 4.6

did y'all forget The Boatman's Call essentially being a Nick solo album? it's not like this is the first time the Seeds took a backseat, the music dictates it sometimes lol

Digging: Black Thought - Streams of Thought, Vol. 3: Cane and Abel

porcupinetheater
July 23rd 2020


3913 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Should just do a boris, Boris, BORIS thing



Nick Cave & the Bad Seeds

Nick Cave and the Bad Seeds

Nick cave (+ the Bad Seeds)

heyadam
July 23rd 2020


3540 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I’m actually pretty stoked to stream his isolation concert thing tomorrow. Idk he’s just one of those artists that even if I don’t like an individual track or lyric here and there or whatever, I’m still glad he’s doing whatever the fuck he wants to do

hel9000
Contributing Reviewer
July 23rd 2020


739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"it's not like this is the first time the Seeds took a backseat, the music dictates it sometimes lol"

true but something felt... unceremonious about this album? re: photo in the gatefold. at least they're all on the back cover of Boatman's Call.

like i said i enjoy this album but i wanted a hell of a lot more Martyn Casey. and it bothers me that it's mostly just bassy synth tones instead. that's more personal preference than anything so whatever. i was disappointed that the players i've enjoyed, who have made their impression on every album prior to this and felt valuable in at least some small way, felt like guests on their own record. i wasn't looking for a full-on rock album either. they've done full-band ambient on their last two and it was fucking awesome. if nick and warren didn't think that would've worked then that's fine, but that's what i would've liked more of.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy