The Highwomen The Highwomen
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Scheumke
September 10th 2019


1782 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listening now and I'm really enjoying it so far. As a European though, I always feel like I'm quite the outsider listening to this type of country music. It just feels super 'American' to me, like I'm not fully getting the gist because the life experiences are so different or something. Can't really put my finger on it. I guess it has a slight air of 'Made in USA, for the USA'.

Digging: Paysage d'Hiver - Im Wald

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
September 10th 2019


1364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think that's definitely a fair criticism. Country I feel like is one of the few truly American-originated genres. It's derivative of Blues and therefore partially appropriated from African Americans, (which makes it even more American), which makes it interesting that it's become such a "white" and American genre. It's really focused on story telling and a lot of those are focused around an American perspective.

That's part of what makes Yola so interesting. She's British and a woman of color, so kind of breaking down a lot of barriers we see around the genre.

Digging: Ismay - Songs of Sonoma Mountain

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2019


1653 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

apparently ken burns' new documentary "country music" is going to discuss the genre's black roots. should be good.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2019


25830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

My Only Child brings the FEELS



Opening track is fantastic too

Digging: Paysage d'Hiver - Im Wald

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
September 11th 2019


1364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ooh I’ll have to check that Chan. Had no idea it was happening

And yeah, the motherhood tracks are real real good. Loving “My Name Can’t Be Mama” recently

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2019


25830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

their cover of "The Chain" is so fantastic. kinda wish they included it here



all in all this is nice but doesn't quite touch Pistol Annies' effort last year (which is odd since I like the musician's here better as far as their solo material goes)

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2019


19612 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this sounds so up my alley its stupid

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2019


1364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I’ve never Pistol Annies the time they deserve. Clearly that’s gotta change

And yeah neeka you gotta get on this, it’s crazy good

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 12th 2019


25830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I lied actually this is prolly at least on par with Interstate Gospel. the standouts are really damn good

theBoneyKing
September 14th 2019


19015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ok so while I do like this, its not having a ton of replay value for me. It suffers from an issue that a lot of country does and which I think has contributed to my being less into it recently, which is that the instrumental backing and song structures/melodies are a lot of the time very bog standard, and while the lyrics are strong a lot of them don't really elevate the somewhat staid honky tonk structures. The more melancholic and (surprise surprise) the Brandi centric tracks are definitely my favorites for that reason.

Digging: The Jim Yoshii Pile-Up - It's Winter Here

dmathias52
Contributing Reviewer
September 14th 2019


1364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I probably agree with that on the whole. Like I touched on in the review, there is a little sense of monotony. It’s hard to break from in this style. It’s such a clear cut instrumentation that you need to use, it’s hard to break from the box. I’m still holding the 4.5 because of what this stands for and the fact that it would have been very easy to do it wrong, and I think they nailed. But musically it’s probably closer to a 4

MrTonytheGamer
September 20th 2019


65 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

FUCK. dis dat good shit. Just proves to me that country music in the year 2019 can in fact be good.

Pho3nix
September 20th 2019


871 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah this was pretty fucking great, a nice surprise. I particularly like the first track as a homage

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 20th 2019


25830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Yup the opening track is stunning

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
September 20th 2019


9817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[2]

Digging: Nuvolascura - As We Suffer From Memory and Imagination

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 29th 2019


25830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

had to bump my score up. so damn good



love the noticeable Bob Dylan influence at the end of "Don't Call Me". album has so much passion and attitude

Atari
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2019


25830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

really enjoyed this article for those who haven't seen it. gives some insight and background as to who was involved in writing each track



https://www.rollingstone.com/music/music-country/the-highwomens-debut-album-track-by-track-guide-879785/

Pho3nix
November 23rd 2019


871 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks!



This is probably my fave record of this year so far actually, probably going to up this a .5 at some point

Atari
Staff Reviewer
November 23rd 2019


25830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Cheers! It’s definitely one of the best albums of the year. I already bumped my rating up once but tempted to again

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
December 21st 2019


9817 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

the opener has become one of my favorite songs of all time and is my most listened to track of the year



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy