The Highwomen The Highwomen
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
dmathias52
September 10th 2019


830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

For y’all who are enjoying this, make sure to check Yola’s album from this year! She’s the one who sings the verse about the Freedom Riders on the title track. Her whole album is great

Digging: Courtney Swain - Between Blood and Ocean

Scheumke
September 10th 2019


1109 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Listening now and I'm really enjoying it so far. As a European though, I always feel like I'm quite the outsider listening to this type of country music. It just feels super 'American' to me, like I'm not fully getting the gist because the life experiences are so different or something. Can't really put my finger on it. I guess it has a slight air of 'Made in USA, for the USA'.

Digging: Moron Police - Boat on the Sea

dmathias52
September 10th 2019


830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think that's definitely a fair criticism. Country I feel like is one of the few truly American-originated genres. It's derivative of Blues and therefore partially appropriated from African Americans, (which makes it even more American), which makes it interesting that it's become such a "white" and American genre. It's really focused on story telling and a lot of those are focused around an American perspective.

That's part of what makes Yola so interesting. She's British and a woman of color, so kind of breaking down a lot of barriers we see around the genre.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
September 10th 2019


900 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

apparently ken burns' new documentary "country music" is going to discuss the genre's black roots. should be good.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2019


24886 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

My Only Child brings the FEELS



Opening track is fantastic too

Digging: Somos - Prison On A Hill

dmathias52
September 11th 2019


830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ooh I’ll have to check that Chan. Had no idea it was happening

And yeah, the motherhood tracks are real real good. Loving “My Name Can’t Be Mama” recently

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 11th 2019


24886 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

their cover of "The Chain" is so fantastic. kinda wish they included it here



all in all this is nice but doesn't quite touch Pistol Annies' effort last year (which is odd since I like the musician's here better as far as their solo material goes)

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2019


16739 Comments


this sounds so up my alley its stupid

dmathias52
September 12th 2019


830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I’ve never Pistol Annies the time they deserve. Clearly that’s gotta change

And yeah neeka you gotta get on this, it’s crazy good

Atari
Staff Reviewer
September 12th 2019


24886 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

I lied actually this is prolly at least on par with Interstate Gospel. the standouts are really damn good

theBoneyKing
September 14th 2019


17160 Comments


Ok so while I do like this, its not having a ton of replay value for me. It suffers from an issue that a lot of country does and which I think has contributed to my being less into it recently, which is that the instrumental backing and song structures/melodies are a lot of the time very bog standard, and while the lyrics are strong a lot of them don't really elevate the somewhat staid honky tonk structures. The more melancholic and (surprise surprise) the Brandi centric tracks are definitely my favorites for that reason.

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

dmathias52
September 14th 2019


830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah, I probably agree with that on the whole. Like I touched on in the review, there is a little sense of monotony. It’s hard to break from in this style. It’s such a clear cut instrumentation that you need to use, it’s hard to break from the box. I’m still holding the 4.5 because of what this stands for and the fact that it would have been very easy to do it wrong, and I think they nailed. But musically it’s probably closer to a 4



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy