Lana Del Rey Norman Fucking Rockwell
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
budgie
August 30th 2019


12987 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

ratings have a pretty good spread but i think it pools more toward the 5.0 end of the scale

Digging: Men I Trust - Oncle Jazz

Odal
August 31st 2019


445 Comments


Yeah, so quick better give it a 1 lol

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2019


31633 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I don't understand the assumption in the review that she should be expected to be political in her art. So what if it's apolitical? The record aims to capture the spirit of the modern era on a social/cultural level, the complex emotions of watching a world spiral into chaos. Overt political messaging seems like it would detract from that goal.




i somewhat disagree with the review's read on the politics/emptiness of the album but god i hate this point more than anything... anything apolitical by design is absolutely not worth anyone's time, especially if its art

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2019


31633 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

stick to sports, lana!!!

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 31st 2019


32091 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Lmao awesome



Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

Cygnatti
August 31st 2019


32883 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

most art is at least vaguely referencing social or political issues

zaruyache
August 31st 2019


21307 Comments


RYM Rating 3.90 / 5.0 from 1,665 ratings

yeeeehaw boys she did it. I don't even think the Carly Rae album was that high on release was it?

Itwasthatwas
August 31st 2019


1751 Comments


The position some people have about everything being political reminds me of the old perspective the church had on everything needing to relate to the faith. There is so much in life to comment on and explore beyond politics, and so much room for art to help us do that.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
August 31st 2019


44810 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

I like the cut of your jib

Digging: ((( O ))) - ((( 1 )))

WatchItExplode
August 31st 2019


7098 Comments


Based Chan quelling mass hysteria...this is dangerous people!

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
August 31st 2019


7999 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Lmao

Digging: Blood Cultures - Oh Uncertainty! A Universe Despairs

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2019


2657 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i do think that the review falls prey to the "reviewing the album based on what u wanted not what u got" fallacy thingy and fwiw i think this album is achingly, brutally personal and does what Lana does best: if it's empty, it's because everything has been said before and cultural references mere approximations of what she wants to say. i love that frustration and that something can be completely sincere and completely untrue.



review is really well-written but that goes without saying let's cut to the meat like damn butchers (r.i.p.)

Digging: Good Night and Good Morning - Narrowing Type

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2019


902 Comments

Album Rating: 3.4

I didn't want anything from the album. I'm not even disappointed in it.

cagedbutterfly
August 31st 2019


584 Comments


ONE WORD, ONE BREATH, we are.. ONE SPARK

rodrigo90
August 31st 2019


5635 Comments


Average rating of tool's new album: 3.9

Average rating of Lana's new album: 4.1

Too much internet for today. I think I'll leave the site for a few days before I'm going nuts and put a bomb in this site.

Stormheart
August 31st 2019


231 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

caged brilliance right there

Digging: Glassjaw - Worship and Tribute

zaruyache
August 31st 2019


21307 Comments


that's because tool is for big boys with big brains but lana is for adults who like ART

budgie
August 31st 2019


12987 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

me am adult

Bhurke
August 31st 2019


50 Comments


I agree Lana isn’t as good at progressive rock as Tool

...OK but seriously what I’ve heard of this so far is great. Hell yes Lana

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
August 31st 2019


15644 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn this thing is great

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Birth of Violence



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy