The Offering Home
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Chambered79
August 13th 2019


532 Comments


Thought this was the offspring tbh

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2019


11210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Ecna yeah, I decided to review the album as-is and didn't really think about including the bonus track. It's not that good either.



@Ramon there are definitely moments where lacking instrumentals are given life by the vocalist, he's a consistent net positive for the band.

Digging: No Note - if this is the future then I'm in the dark

ramon.
August 13th 2019


3707 Comments


lung game too strong

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2019


11210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Boy can this fella breathe

Beardog
August 13th 2019


3505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Holy fuck this is fantastic. Love the vocals and the operatic backing vocals. So well done, the heavy, Slipknot-like instrumentation fits really well too. Amazing solo's and variety in the songwriting, these guys do it all! The drummer has some tasty fills as well.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2019


11210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The pieces come together pretty well here. As I said though, wish the bassist had more of a presence, especially during some of the more groove-oriented sections

Beardog
August 13th 2019


3505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Would be nice, but I don't miss him

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2019


11210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Eh, there's no reason to not have him though, since it would really make a noticeable difference. I'm not saying we need to get in some tech death-level bass playing--the tuning of the instrument in that genre has arguably become too loud to the point where it's obnoxious--but to have him at least supplying that extra push to the low end would help immensely, especially considering how much the low end is employed here;

Gmork89
August 15th 2019


8069 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Dance with Diana straight rawks

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2019


11210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love how sinister the vocalist sounds, works well with that ominous riff. Ending is pretty crazy too.

Toondude10
August 15th 2019


14219 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn this rules

Beardog
August 15th 2019


3505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I knew you would love this

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2019


11210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hard to get away when there are too many catchy hooks.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2019


9597 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a fucking blast

Digging: Jeff Rosenstock - NO DREAM

Spec
August 15th 2019


35936 Comments


I keep thinking this is the offspring. Make it stop.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2019


11210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

We can't always get what we want in life

scoopitypoop
August 15th 2019


114 Comments


i loved Americana but this was a little different

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2019


11210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Have to say, their transition to djent is a rather bold move.

Beardog
August 15th 2019


3505 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I honestly don't think this djents that much. Yes, it has some down-tuning, but the riffs are way more Slipknot than they are Meshuggah

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2019


11210 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh for sure. They dip into some different territory for quite a few of the riffs. You've got progressive metal, djent, nu-metal makes an appearance, hints of power metal--though a lot of that is helped by the vocal performance.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy