The Offering Home
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Chambered79
August 12th 2019


378 Comments


Thought this was the offspring tbh

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2019


9858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Ecna yeah, I decided to review the album as-is and didn't really think about including the bonus track. It's not that good either.



@Ramon there are definitely moments where lacking instrumentals are given life by the vocalist, he's a consistent net positive for the band.

Digging: The Offering - Home

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2019


3262 Comments


lung game too strong

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2019


9858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Boy can this fella breathe

Beardog
August 13th 2019


2884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Holy fuck this is fantastic. Love the vocals and the operatic backing vocals. So well done, the heavy, Slipknot-like instrumentation fits really well too. Amazing solo's and variety in the songwriting, these guys do it all! The drummer has some tasty fills as well.

Digging: The Offering - Home

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2019


9858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The pieces come together pretty well here. As I said though, wish the bassist had more of a presence, especially during some of the more groove-oriented sections

Beardog
August 13th 2019


2884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Would be nice, but I don't miss him

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2019


9858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Eh, there's no reason to not have him though, since it would really make a noticeable difference. I'm not saying we need to get in some tech death-level bass playing--the tuning of the instrument in that genre has arguably become too loud to the point where it's obnoxious--but to have him at least supplying that extra push to the low end would help immensely, especially considering how much the low end is employed here;

Gmork89
August 14th 2019


7901 Comments


Dance with Diana straight rawks

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 14th 2019


9858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love how sinister the vocalist sounds, works well with that ominous riff. Ending is pretty crazy too.

Toondude10
August 15th 2019


13982 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Damn this rules

Digging: Teramaze - Esoteric Symbolism

Beardog
August 15th 2019


2884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I knew you would love this

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2019


9858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hard to get away when there are too many catchy hooks.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2019


7863 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a fucking blast

Digging: We Are Only Human Once - The Prettiest Boys in Town

Spec
August 15th 2019


35717 Comments


I keep thinking this is the offspring. Make it stop.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2019


9858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

We can't always get what we want in life

scoopitypoop
August 15th 2019


103 Comments


i loved Americana but this was a little different

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2019


9858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Have to say, their transition to djent is a rather bold move.

Beardog
August 15th 2019


2884 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I honestly don't think this djents that much. Yes, it has some down-tuning, but the riffs are way more Slipknot than they are Meshuggah

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 15th 2019


9858 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh for sure. They dip into some different territory for quite a few of the riffs. You've got progressive metal, djent, nu-metal makes an appearance, hints of power metal--though a lot of that is helped by the vocal performance.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy