The Offering Home
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
August 11th 2019


2975 Comments


I'm basic and don't listen to much metal, but this is a great write-up.

Digging: Bon Iver - i,i

Calc
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2019


16215 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

this sounds a lot like something maximum the hormone might conjure up. Glad it ended up being good though I heard a wild comparison that turned me off initially.

conesmoke
August 12th 2019


6003 Comments


Thought this said the offspring with that summary lol

Beardog
August 12th 2019


2875 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sounds interesting, pretty good review. I'll check this one out

Digging: The Offering - Home

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2019


9819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Appreciate y'all, I await to see whatever opinions come rolling in.

Digging: The Offering - Home

Ebola
August 12th 2019


3629 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Ultraviolence is SOTY and it’s not even remotely close

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2019


9819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm usually not for that style but I cannot deny how adrenaline-pumping that opening riff is

Gmork89
August 12th 2019


7901 Comments


This at times reminds me of a much heavier Fair to Midland so far.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2019


9819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You know, I can kinda see that. Seems these guys bring about entertaining comparisons.

Ecnalzen
August 12th 2019


8610 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sweet, found a youtube stream. Gonna check the whole thing right about now.



I do hear a little bit of FtM in the vocals and the way he sings, now that you mention it.

Gmork89
August 12th 2019


7901 Comments


Yeah the vocal melodies and hooks reminded me a lot of their style at times, it's a cool sound that they have. This is pretty damn good really.

Ecnalzen
August 12th 2019


8610 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I am digging their sound pretty hard so far. It is a fun mash up of different styles/bands and works really well.



And the singer is so versatile. I wonder if how he does live.

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2019


9879 Comments


I'm a little upset there's no "Pretty Fly..." cover on here.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2019


9819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"And the singer is so versatile. I wonder if how he does live."



Definitely curious myself. He does all the vox here, which includes a lot of layering in terms of harmonies and backing harsh vocals.



@Nocte Why don't you get a job?!

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2019


9879 Comments


Wayyyyy to busy drawing 31's

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2019


9819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You're gonna go far, kid.

Ecnalzen
August 12th 2019


8610 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol



True, there is quite a bit going on with the vocals. Hopefully they have some good back up from the rest of the band, otherwise, this might not translate well to a live setting.



I def hear what you mean by the T/t kind of meandering and not necessarily justifying the length, Mars. Still, not a bad song, tho. I don't think I would skip it.

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2019


9819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nothing here is what I would call skip-worthy, but certain tracks noticeably lag behind others. Hard to beat the opening one-two-three punch, those first entries are a heavy-hitting combo.

Ecnalzen
August 12th 2019


8610 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

T/t felt like it started and stopped a lot off first couple listens. Like they just wrote 3 or 4 songs, maybe thought they sounded too similar, and smashed them all together and touted it as a 14 minute epic instead of making a long song that actually flowed together. The slower sections don't work as the more aggressive stuff for me. The bonus track Violets has the same problem as I thought the mellow section of T/t has.



Failure was a bit of a standout for me so far. I had this playing in the background and I don't remember thinking anything was off until the T/t and bonus track came into play.

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
August 12th 2019


3262 Comments


getting some unleash the archers vibes from the tracks ive heard so far. quite a bit of the low fret stuff is a bit paste but when the vocalist kicks into overdrive and the band ramps up the energy stuff gets pretty wild.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy