clairo Immunity
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
August 4th 2019


2979 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wish there was more going on on a lot of this -- even when the production's super warm and there are some interesting flourishes, it feels a little too spare and like something's missing. Her voice and some of her vocal melodies are so, so, so nice though.

Digging: Bon Iver - i,i

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 4th 2019


31919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

I think the main thing missing for me is hooks lol. I like her voice, the production, and overall vibe... but only a handful of songs are catchy/memorable (Sofia being the case in point). I think if it had more interesting melodies across the board it'd be a 4.5 for me.

Digging: Off With Their Heads - Be Good

luci
August 4th 2019


11491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i like the subtle hooks actually, i've had whispers of this in my head since i heard it. a third banger in the bags/sofia style would be most welcome though

SowingSeason
Moderator
August 4th 2019


31919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

True, subtle hooks is a good way of putting it.

luci
August 4th 2019


11491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

she seems like a counterpoint to billie eilish. that was music for zoomers who want to break the rulez while this is chill beats for studying but actually just daydreaming about your crush

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
August 4th 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

this doesn't really offer anything that a bunch of other albums don't do better

Digging: Strange Ranger - Remembering the Rockets

Egarran
August 4th 2019


12090 Comments


Worst cover ever.

Danred97
August 4th 2019


2349 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This sounds fantastic. It sounds kind of like if Phoebe Bridget’s made a pop-centric album. I’m totally all in on this album, but I can hear the critics shouting “industry plant” already

Digging: Landon Tewers - Withdrawals

luci
August 4th 2019


11491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

industry plant status is only relevant when you don’t like their music

budgie
August 4th 2019


12147 Comments


"
Worst cover ever."
yeah she only has half a face wtf is this

Digging: Polygon Woods - Post Space

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2019


7863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is such a basic, innocuous cover lol calm down

Digging: We Are Only Human Once - The Prettiest Boys in Town

DoofDoof
August 4th 2019


4828 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

She’s an industrious plant? 🌱

Egarran
August 4th 2019


12090 Comments


Calm down over a basic cover? I demand the highest standards and I'm fucking enraged.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
August 4th 2019


7863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

When you put it like that...

luci
August 4th 2019


11491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"north" sounds like a cut from the last george clanton record

luci
August 4th 2019


11491 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

had an issue with her apathetic vocals at first, but somehow those are catchy to me now

Realm
August 4th 2019


2507 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I love this

AnimalsAsSummit
August 5th 2019


4026 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

Nice

Digging: Laetitia Sadier Source Ensemble - Find Me Finding You

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
August 5th 2019


42371 Comments

Album Rating: 2.7

""north" sounds like a cut from the last george clanton record"



yeah and that album was a massive disappointment too

Point1
August 5th 2019


662 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think I'm just tired of everybody whisper-singing over quiet instrumentals or thumb-strummed acoustic guitar. It feels like the majority of hyped indie albums (this, Florist, Tomberlin, Haley Heyndrixcks, Big Thief) in the past little but just have no pulse whatsoever.



I'll take Stella Donnelly or Mannequin Pussy over this delicate wave any day honestly



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy