Falls of Rauros Patterns in Mythology
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Emeritus
January 14th 2022


17558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Link to bandcamp for new track:



https://fallsofrauros.bandcamp.com/



Sounds quite different, still digesting

Pikazilla
January 14th 2022


20542 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

That was disappointing

Crysis
Emeritus
January 14th 2022


17558 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

its aight

DungeonBoy
January 14th 2022


8643 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

""Key to a Vanishing Future" is an intended departure from the sounds explored throughout the band's back catalog, while still retaining characteristics inherent to Falls of Rauros. Never content to make the same album twice, the group has once again invited new influences into their aesthetic, this time including more explicit nods to death metal and prog rock while still drilling deeper into the black metal and North American folk-rock that makes up their core sound. This is once again their heaviest album to date, as well as their most technically demanding."



stoked to hear it

Pikazilla
January 14th 2022


20542 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The part after the 5 min mark is great



Rest is very questionable



Guess I'll have to wait till I can listen to the single alongside the rest of the album for perhaps a more rewarding experience

Demon of the Fall
January 14th 2022


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I could definitely be persuaded to dive into another FoR record, although the description above sounds erm... unexpected

Digging: Dark Millennium - Acid River

TheSpirit
January 14th 2022


28943 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It rules

Digging: Sallow Moth - Failure to Find

DungeonBoy
January 14th 2022


8643 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gave it a listen, it's a lot to take in. Some elements are new while still retaining a lot of the vibe from previous releases, definitely still retains a lot of similar qualities to PiM. Their last two records solidified them as one of my favorite black metal bands these days so will absolutely spend a lot of time with this new record when it drops

Egarran
January 14th 2022


26160 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Agree with your analyses. I'm not a complete fan, but then again some of sounds they make touch me *there*

Gnocchi
Staff Reviewer
January 14th 2022


16137 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Going to hold off on the single/s at the moment. Can say I am pretty well stoked now for the end of March

TheSpirit
January 15th 2022


28943 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

The more I listen to this song, the more I am impressed with the track/confused with some people’s mixed reaction. I absolutely love how the band is further indulging in their prog rock influences without being OVERindulgent. Like DungeonBoy mentioned, they are bringing new sounds to the table but haven’t forsaken their core Falls of Rauros-isms. This track gorgeous, and I think it’s awesome how the band have carved a very idiosyncratic feel melodically. Their songwriting is impressively recognizable without feeling recyclable. Obviously it’s early, but I would not be surprised if the new one is my AOTY.

dedex
Contributing Reviewer
January 15th 2022


10208 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Same as Nocte, will *try* to hold off

naughtcturnal
January 15th 2022


2051 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

New track is unexpected and good

DarkNoctus
January 15th 2022


11784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i really liked the track

trilo
January 15th 2022


4380 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

will czech

Digging: Earl Sweatshirt - Sick!

brainmelter
January 15th 2022


7717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

new track is solid, hope the new album is more Vigilance and less Patterns

Digging: Vothana - Hnh ??ng By Gi?, T??ng Lai ??m B?o / Action Now,

Demon of the Fall
January 15th 2022


22453 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Nah, other way around 😉

brainmelter
January 15th 2022


7717 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

no, but ok 😉

DarkNoctus
January 15th 2022


11784 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love both records, vigilance just edges it - but i'm happy with it sounding like either. or neither - stoked for the band to go off on a tangent

nash1311
January 17th 2022


3664 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Didn’t love the new single. Not bad just kinda boring To be honest. Only really liked 4:30 or so to the end



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy