Oh, Sleeper Bloodied/Unbowed
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Devastator
July 12th 2019


3851 Comments


I don't think Micahs growls are that bad at the beginning of Decimation & Burial.

botb
July 12th 2019


13077 Comments


These guys kinda fell off after their debut [1234]

jawsher
July 12th 2019


15 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review, i do think micah's growls aren't nearly as good as they once were but i think this is more than passable core

Nomos2
July 12th 2019


337 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Very, very well-written review. TBH there's a lot of pedestrian writing on this site, but I really enjoyed that one.

Spec
July 12th 2019


35708 Comments


So I’m guessing this means it doesn’t sound like their debut.

JayEnder
July 12th 2019


4589 Comments


Cool album cover. I should check this.

Digging: Wreck and Reference - Absolute Still Life

Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2019


24715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

Son of the Morning and Children of Fire are both awesome



but I'll admit I haven't heard their debut (or maybe once but I don't remember it)

Digging: Telethon - Hard Pop

SteakByrnes
July 12th 2019


15141 Comments


Shane is crying rn reading this review ramon look at what you've done

Honestly for the best tho he needs a good slap on the ol nuts and shaft because goddamn this sounds so uninspired and lazy

Excellent review I give it a hippopotamus out of 4

Digging: Auras - Binary Garden

Danred97
July 12th 2019


2295 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is top. Micah sounds like he hasn’t lost step since their hiatus and Shane sounds fantastic. Has that nice guitar work I expect from them and the drumming is stellar. Might rival CoF in time. Solid all the way through imo

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2019


9349 Comments


Agreed with everyone else, review was very well done. You portrayed both sides of the coin very well here.

Digging: Disentomb - The Decaying Light

outliers
July 12th 2019


799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Shane's choruses are so damn clunky and boring



Lucman
July 12th 2019


2903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, I saw this coming. I actually like the album but get the criticisms.

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Abyss

outliers
July 12th 2019


799 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

YOU JUST CAN'T KILL WHAT'S ALREADY DEAD



first two songs slap, but goes downhill fast for me as the frequency of annoying Shane vocals increase

calmrose
July 12th 2019


5045 Comments


enjoying this more than I thought I would

definitely lots of tasty riffs throughout, just wish the band would cut the lame disjointed choruses and just go ham for the entirety of the songs

first two songs slap [2]

edit: more the album continues, the more I lose interest

Digging: Jeromes Dream - LP

Atari
Staff Reviewer
July 12th 2019


24715 Comments

Album Rating: 3.3

their lyrics used to feel so genuine and passionate but they seem pretty generic and forced now.



Good review btw, found several parts rather amusing





RyanSmithers
July 12th 2019


117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Not sure what I will rate this at going forward, initial thoughts are that it's not as pedestrian as the review makes it seem and it might just come down to your opinion of Shane's vocals. They don't bother me as much as the reviewers. However, I agree that the absence of a rhythm guitar has definitely changed the feel of some of their songs and I think is sorely missed. Also, the last song, I like his crooning, but it is a weird song that doesn't really go anywhere to close out the album! Overall, I'm a huge fan of their first three albums, and I like the EP, so I'm guess I'm just glad that we'll get more music from them and hopefully they re-find they're footing going forward as I feel this is not quite up to the level I was hoping for...but we'll see as time goes by.

ConcubinaryCode
July 12th 2019


4708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Oh no... I hope I like it more. Going in now

Duckman118
July 12th 2019


388 Comments


Whole album felt so off compared to their past material. Going back and listening to anything off of cof puts this to shame. This feels completely uninspired to me so far.

ramon.
Contributing Reviewer
July 12th 2019


3157 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Appreciate the kind words, everyone!



I’ve never really had much issue with Shane, going so far as to say tracks like The Conscience Speaks are straight up beautiful. That said, nothing here does him much justice, and I feel Heavy Hands off of the EP would have been a considerably more fitting acoustic effort for a title like The Summit than what we got at the end of this record. I already felt like that EP had some lyrical pitfalls too but this album is a lyrics dumpster fire at times.

Source
July 12th 2019


12320 Comments


So this continues the trend of old bands who should've remained inactive



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy