Thom Yorke Anima
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JigglyPDiddy
July 1st 2019


3657 Comments


is this g00d? never rly been into his solo stuff

Digging: State Faults - Clairvoyant

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2019


16402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

y33t

Demon of the Fall
July 1st 2019


11520 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It might be the best thing he’s done in nearly 12 years, so yeah it’s quite good alright.

Digging: Mouth Of The Architect - The Ties That Blind

Makemebad35
July 1st 2019


921 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah, this is pretty swell

J() Alexander
July 1st 2019


7721 Comments


The reception of this makes me want to listen to it, mmmmm...

Digging: Attestupa - ttestupa

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2019


18798 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

it's aggressively OK

NorthernSkylark
July 1st 2019


9454 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

but is it grrrrrrrrrrrr-eat?

Digging: Broken Social Scene - Broken Social Scene

Larkinhill
July 1st 2019


3147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damnit, this is getting hyped up too much. Hope I’m

not disappointed/expecting too much.



Need to check it out ASAP.

J() Alexander
July 1st 2019


7721 Comments


"it's aggressively OK"
Mmmmmmm, yeah, I'm probably going to think the same.

Larkinhill
July 1st 2019


3147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lol @ I Am a Very Rude Person. Interesting title.

Larkinhill
July 1st 2019


3147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dawn Chorus is stunning. If the rest of the album is that good, it’ll be a 4.5.

Feather
July 1st 2019


5200 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to it while working was quite a treat, but that might mean its better off as background music. .. In the best way.

Larkinhill
July 1st 2019


3147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a haunting and beautiful album. Drags at times but balanced out by some mesmerizing and hypnotic stuff. 3.5 is probably too hasty of a rating and I may end up 4’ing after a few more listens.



I agree on the background music assessment. I don’t think I could just sit there solely listening to this many times, but it’s great while you’re cooking, writing, reading etc. Not unlike NIN’s Ghosts and his Social Network soundtrack.

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2019


2595 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

fortuitous timing coming so soon after HACKED MINIDISCS, but as comprehensive a demarcation as you're going to get: there is very, very little that links what Thom was doing and what he wants to do now (irony of ironies, technology has enabled him to make a different iteration of himself). if i was being reductive i'd say that this might - might - complete a trilogy started with Kid A and Amnesiac but otherwise I love that a really talented musician is refusing to rest on his laurels



also the short film is so silly and so much fun and weirdly avoids feeling indulgent, take a moment of time for feel sorry for The National who really suffer by comparison

Digging: Crossed Out - Fuck Grindcore

Larkinhill
July 1st 2019


3147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I definitely need to check out the short film now. PT Anderson is one of my favorite directors, probably top 3 along with Tarantino and David Fincher. Then of course Scorsese, Darren Aronofsky.

Doibhin69
July 1st 2019


441 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if your rating isn't 4 or above you're wrong

Larkinhill
July 1st 2019


3147 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damnit I hate being wrong.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 2nd 2019


16402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think I'm becoming uncomfortably fond of this album

Lucman
July 2nd 2019


2904 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is as good as Moon Shaped Pool imo. Neck and neck.

Also, I really love how he says "bloody wreckage" on "Dawn Chorus" for some reason haha

Digging: Chelsea Wolfe - Abyss

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 2nd 2019


16402 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think it might be better tbh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy