Thom Yorke Anima
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JigglyPDiddy
July 1st 2019


3721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is this g00d? never rly been into his solo stuff

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 1st 2019


17612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

y33t

Demon of the Fall
July 1st 2019


14956 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It might be the best thing he’s done in nearly 12 years, so yeah it’s quite good alright.

Digging: Kvelertak - Kvelertak

Makemebad35
July 1st 2019


952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah, this is pretty swell

J() Alexander
July 1st 2019


7913 Comments


The reception of this makes me want to listen to it, mmmmm...

Frippertronics
Staff Reviewer
July 1st 2019


19275 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

it's aggressively OK

Digging: Gil Scott-Heron and Makaya McCraven - We're New Again - A Reimagining by Makaya McCraven

NorthernSkylark
July 1st 2019


9639 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

but is it grrrrrrrrrrrr-eat?

Digging: Nicolas Jaar - Don't Break My Love

Larkinhill
July 1st 2019


6044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damnit, this is getting hyped up too much. Hope I’m

not disappointed/expecting too much.



Need to check it out ASAP.

J() Alexander
July 1st 2019


7913 Comments


"it's aggressively OK"
Mmmmmmm, yeah, I'm probably going to think the same.

Larkinhill
July 1st 2019


6044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Lol @ I Am a Very Rude Person. Interesting title.

Larkinhill
July 1st 2019


6044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Dawn Chorus is stunning. If the rest of the album is that good, it’ll be a 4.5.

Feather
July 1st 2019


5751 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Listening to it while working was quite a treat, but that might mean its better off as background music. .. In the best way.

Larkinhill
July 1st 2019


6044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a haunting and beautiful album. Drags at times but balanced out by some mesmerizing and hypnotic stuff. 3.5 is probably too hasty of a rating and I may end up 4’ing after a few more listens.



I agree on the background music assessment. I don’t think I could just sit there solely listening to this many times, but it’s great while you’re cooking, writing, reading etc. Not unlike NIN’s Ghosts and his Social Network soundtrack.

Winesburgohio
Staff Reviewer
July 2nd 2019


2844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fortuitous timing coming so soon after HACKED MINIDISCS, but as comprehensive a demarcation as you're going to get: there is very, very little that links what Thom was doing and what he wants to do now (irony of ironies, technology has enabled him to make a different iteration of himself). if i was being reductive i'd say that this might - might - complete a trilogy started with Kid A and Amnesiac but otherwise I love that a really talented musician is refusing to rest on his laurels



also the short film is so silly and so much fun and weirdly avoids feeling indulgent, take a moment of time for feel sorry for The National who really suffer by comparison

Digging: Marvin Tate and Joseph Clayton Mills - The Process

Larkinhill
July 2nd 2019


6044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I definitely need to check out the short film now. PT Anderson is one of my favorite directors, probably top 3 along with Tarantino and David Fincher. Then of course Scorsese, Darren Aronofsky.

Doibhin69
July 2nd 2019


632 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

if your rating isn't 4 or above you're wrong

Larkinhill
July 2nd 2019


6044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damnit I hate being wrong.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 2nd 2019


17612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think I'm becoming uncomfortably fond of this album

Lucman
July 2nd 2019


3834 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is as good as Moon Shaped Pool imo. Neck and neck.

Also, I really love how he says "bloody wreckage" on "Dawn Chorus" for some reason haha

Digging: Broken Social Scene - You Forgot It in People

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
July 2nd 2019


17612 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think it might be better tbh



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy