Silversun Pickups Widow's Weeds
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 9th 2019


7847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Neck is their best yep

Digging: Marika Hackman - Any Human Friend

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2019


16458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Three tracks in and I'm loving it, definitely best since Swoon if it holds up like this.

Digging: Cross Record - Cross Record

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2019


16601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i have bad news :/

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2019


16458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

dammit neek, really?

Muppelope
June 10th 2019


1713 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nah, first two tracks are comparatively weak imo

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2019


16458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

t/t is taking the plunge a bit but the rest is pretty solid so far.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2019


16458 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Simpatico is a fucking mess, closer is dope. This is a solid 4 gentlemen.



Edit: Or a 3.9 if we gonna go edgy here.

tcat84
June 10th 2019


1254 Comments


I remember hearing Neck of the woods for the first time and being like "this is going to be their best!" But it quickly wore off me and lyrically disappointing at times.

I've honestly only listened to Better nature twice.

I enjoyed this once through very much, will need to some time to place it and Better nature.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2019


16601 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I really don't get all the love for the closer, for me it was my least favorite on first listen

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
June 10th 2019


7847 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Don’t like the closer whatsoever

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 10th 2019


31903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

I love the weirdness and energy of the closer, it's definitely the most ambitious track on the album. To me it's simply unmemorable; whereas so many of these songs pack earworm melodies, such tune sense is left out on one of the few songs (the other being Straw Man) that have the acumen to back it up. It's like I said in my review, they can't seem to string all their best traits together in one song.

Digging: Off With Their Heads - Be Good

Gyromania
June 10th 2019


28184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

What a bummer. Was really hoping to see a 4 or 4.5

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 10th 2019


31903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Based on your opinion that it should be, or just hopes?

Curious what you think of this too Gyro. For me it's their worst yet, but I'm so obsessed with these guys that even at their worst I've spent all weekend listening.

Gyromania
June 10th 2019


28184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

just hopes. i wanted this to be a really solid midsummer album. the last album of theirs i liked was swoon, although i only listened to neck of the woods once, probably didn't give it a fair chance, it just didn't grab me at first though. and then better nature was just okay.

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 10th 2019


31903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

People who disliked Neck of the Woods and Better Nature seem to be having a positive response to this, so I'd say there's hope for you.

I wish they would have stayed the course of their last two albums. I thought that they were beautiful evolutions from their Swoon days.

Gyromania
June 10th 2019


28184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oh shit, just noticed the 4.7 from you for neck of the woods. maybe i should revisit that after all

Gyromania
June 10th 2019


28184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i just want to hear another song that rivals "the royal we". i have played that to absolute death

Pikazilla
June 10th 2019


2190 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Better than Neck, whick fucking sucked, but not as good as the first two. I will give this a few more spins, but I just don't see it going any higher than 3.0.



Gyro, I agree, Royal We is awesome!

Pikazilla
June 10th 2019


2190 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I pretty much agree with what Sowing's saying. Album's trying to be good but just falls short, turning into a frustrating listening experience.

SowingSeason
Moderator
June 10th 2019


31903 Comments

Album Rating: 3.2

Neck of the Woods has a really creepy, almost haunted house vibe that I really dig. I realize it's not everyone's favorite but I find it delightfully unnerving. The singles are some of their very best (Bloody Mary esp) and the opener, Skin Graph, might be my favorite song by them ever. I'll advocate for anyone to check or revisit Neck of the Woods. It's so underrated. So is the Pikul EP, but that's more emo/indie than most are used to from these guys. Anyhow, I can't think of a comparable song to The Royal We off the top of my head, but these guys have such a rich discography that I'd reckon you'll find something you enjoy just as much if you simply keep looking.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy