Destrage The Chosen One
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Faraudo
May 31st 2019


3495 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I found this incredibly fun, so yeah.

Digging: Phoebe Bridgers - Punisher

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 31st 2019


11987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's got its moments. It grew on me after a less than favourable first impression

Project
May 31st 2019


4266 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"But, if you prefer the version of Destrage that would drop a random bossa nova break into the middle of a groove metal song before segueing into some blast beats then The Chosen One is going to leave you disappointed. "



Dang, flashbacks to people debating whether or not August Burns Red's random salsa interludes were good (spoiler: they were)



I'm intrigued by this, I'll give this a spin

Digging: Phoebe Bridgers - Punisher

peartnoy
May 31st 2019


1437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'd argue that the interludes this band used to put in their songs weren't random at all though.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 31st 2019


11987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

How would you argue that?

BTW, when I say random I don't literally mean they rolled a dice to decide what genre to go into next. I mean that they chose stuff that would often be as jarring and as unexpected as possible.

peartnoy
May 31st 2019


1437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Unexpected and random aren't the same. I didn't feel like these sections were randomly put in.



As much as I love these interludes by August Burns Red, they don't really feel integrated that well most of the time. Didn't have this problem with Destrage.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 31st 2019


11987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well it all depends on how you define random.

Like is there a specific songwriting reason why, for instance, the band ends Destroy, Create, Transform, Sublimate with the drum n bass outro apart from "it might be cool". If no then it kind of is random because it's almost completely unnecessary.

And again, I'm not saying it's not cool or not well executed. I do enjoy that kind of songwriting because of the surprise element, and not all bands can pull it off.

GhostB1rd
June 1st 2019


6275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Disagree wholeheartedly about this album being vocal-centric. It's anything but.



Agree wholeheartedly on it being the most cohesive and mature, and imo that's to its benefit. My favorite album so far this year.

GhostB1rd
June 1st 2019


6275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Listening to this for the fifth time now and how this could be considered anything but a guitar driven album is beyond me.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2019


11987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Maybe you should listen to their other albums.

GhostB1rd
June 1st 2019


6275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I have?

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2019


11987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

In that case I don't understand how you don't think this album is markedly more vocally driven than those ones.

GhostB1rd
June 1st 2019


6275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

It's been awhile but you can only be talking in relative terms, cause in absolute terms this is inarguably a guitar focused album.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2019


11987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I assumed that inasmuch as this is a techy prog metal band/album the relativity of that statement was obvious. I'm not comparing this to Elton John.

GhostB1rd
June 1st 2019


6275 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Sponce is far more front and center too so I don't think you have to reach that far.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2019


11987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agree to disagree. Colavolpe is just as front and center on this album as Sponce is.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
June 1st 2019


11987 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Or to perhaps make the point clearer. Destrage has always had the vocals front and center, but that was counter balanced by how riffy the albums were. This album is MUCH less riffy than Destrage's first 3 albums. I wouldn't go as far as peartnoy in calling it generic and unmemorable, but they've vastly toned down the riffage, thereby proportionately increasing the relative weight of the vocal contributions.

peartnoy
June 1st 2019


1437 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hey I never said this was generic. It's still their own sound but like an uninspired version of it.

Pikazilla
June 1st 2019


11349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I completely agree. Album is incredibly underwhelming, especially when compared to the brilliant AYKM?N. They've just been getting worse and worse with every record after that. But then, it is metalcore, so you would be kind of silly to expect anything interesting from the genre that was so quick to rise and die.

LunaticSoul
June 1st 2019


1407 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I have to agree with Sitar here. The album is way more vocal driven than anything they've put out. The riffing is still there but the hooks are more spazzy and TDEP-ish, and less memorable than most of their old material.



I feel like the more they go out of their comfort zone, the less their songs interest me. IMHO they just don't have it in them to make a 'ballad', or their mellow parts generally fall flat. When they amp up (literally), though, they're still masters of the genre.



Also, what the fuck on that chosen one cockblock of an ending leading into fucking farewell monalisa part 2. Like I thought they deliberately cut it out on the single for some reason, it's just an awkward ending. No idea how it will be live.



I'd say I'm comfortable with giving this a 3.3, but raising to 3.5 as Sitar did here.



Hey, Stranger video though is the tits and it has been recorded at an abandoned plant 300m from my place, lol.







You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy