Warforged I: Voice
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DDDeftoneDDD
August 20th 2019


12171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"Surprised this doesn't have a positive review too"

We could start with that 4 of yours Nocte, just put your hands on it x)

Massive album guys

Digging: Thou - blessings of the highest order

DDDeftoneDDD
September 11th 2019


12171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Recd tracks - Beneath The Forest Floor; Old Friend + The Color of My Memory.

m/m/m/.....d--_--b.....m/m/m/

Nocte
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2019


12522 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

We could start with that 4 of yours Nocte, just put your hands on it x)




not going to lie, Sept/Nov has me pretty snowed under at this point.

Jotun35
October 2nd 2019


124 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Oh wow... An exercise in futility and lazy songwriting. Actually, scratch that. Songwriting can't be lazy if it is nonexistent. That shit is so pompous, it's ridiculous.

AaroN911
October 10th 2019


2764 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is a great album with great production, little long for my taste though

XfingTheSullen
October 17th 2019


4471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Old Friend is such a jam



This is amazing. So fresh, chaotic and unpredictable

DDDeftoneDDD
October 17th 2019


12171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah man. If Beneath the Forest Floor is my soty contender, my fave part of the album slowly became those last two tracks...uff

Pikazilla
October 17th 2019


11132 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hatters gonna hat

TundraL5Z
October 17th 2019


4238 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

"Oh wow... An exercise in futility and lazy songwriting. Actually, scratch that. Songwriting can't be lazy if it is nonexistent. That shit is so pompous, it's ridiculous."

Same dude

DDDeftoneDDD
October 17th 2019


12171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yet false

XfingTheSullen
October 18th 2019


4471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How can something be pompous and not have songwriting at the same time? I thought you required too much songwriting for something to be pompous lol

ramon.
October 18th 2019


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"How can something be pompous and not have songwriting at the same time?"



you know pompous just means self-important, right? self-importance and quantity of songwriting (lol i would like to order three songwriting please) aren't mutually exclusive. they aren't even the same discussions. im similarly the world's best triple backflip man and anyone who can only do a double backflip is cancelled



i can't actually do a triple backflip but i believe i can > : )

XfingTheSullen
October 18th 2019


4471 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well actually simple music is rarely considered pompous, it's excessive flair that makes most people consider music pompous, right?

DDDeftoneDDD
October 18th 2019


12171 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This page has 3 good examples of tracks with great songwriting. Just because it's unconventional, unexpected or not your type (and def not lazy) it doesn't mean it hasn't got one. No objections on coming out as pompous for many tho.

ramon.
October 18th 2019


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Idk dude, maybe that perspective works if you explicitly only listen to free-form jazz or prog? Entire swaths of artists in genres like noise, field recordings, minimalism (be it the more widespread electronic or minimalist classical), IDM, a metric fuck load of post rock, indie folk, half of all funeral doom, and more get labelled as pompous or self-important all the time, and most often for being anything but excessive. You don't have to chuck four time signature changes three key transpositions two chromatic runs and a partridge in a pear tree together to love the smell of your own farts.

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2019


4083 Comments


Album is the musical equivalent of trying to get a coherent explanation of the belief in God from Jordan Peterson

ramon.
October 18th 2019


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

*Kermit voice* now listen here bucko

mindleviticus
October 18th 2019


10129 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I think this album could've been a lot better if it:

1. Was at least 25 minutes shorter

2. Didn't have random immediate dynamic shifts in EVERY SONG

3. Obligatory loudness war gripe/better mixing

Jacquibim
Staff Reviewer
October 18th 2019


4083 Comments


"Well it depends on what you mean by 'cohesion', eh. Some scholars would contest that the very notion of one musical idea even tangentially being related to the one that directly preceded it - or, haha, I guess the one after it too, if you want to be pedantic - oh, so... it's it's, a tyrannical diktat of the Enlightenment, so they would say. And it's like 'no' that's wrong; not just a stylistic preference, but that can't even be reconciled with the fundamentals of songwriting--"oh but beauty is in the eye of the beholder", ha! Ya, sure, bucko."

ramon.
October 18th 2019


3707 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Hmmmmm the imitation quality seems like a dogwhistle



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy