The Wildhearts Renaissance Men
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheNotrap
May 15th 2019


10636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The initial and ending riff

Digging: Deathspell Omega - Si Monvmentvm Reqvires Circvmspice

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 15th 2019


9425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah I see! Yeah that riff is definitely massive! And that song probably has my favourite lyrics on the album, despite the fact that I almost never pay attention to the lyrics.



You're not an out of touch text

In an out of date textbook

One cure fits all

If it's to justify the letters on the name on plaque up on the wall

TheNotrap
May 15th 2019


10636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

English is not my first language, I have some difficulty understanding the meaning of the last sentence in the context of the previous ones



But sounds deep ;)

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 15th 2019


9425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The song is basically a rant about how mental healthcare involves summary diagnoses and overprescription of drugs. So the last line is about doctors:

Letters on the name = MD, PhD etc

Plaque up on the wall = the degrees and diplomas that doctors put on their walls to show that they are qualified professionals.

TheNotrap
May 15th 2019


10636 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks for the insight SH



Smart writing indeed, the overprescription of drugs on mental healthcare has always been a way of trying to solve the problem without solving it, but at least nowadays people are not accused of witchcraft and thrown to the fire, as some time ago

zakalwe
May 15th 2019


27338 Comments


Sung by a geezer who lives it.


DoofDoof
May 15th 2019


3372 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

‘My Side of the Bed’ takes on ingrained discrimination in the industry and the country at large without pandering



Just love the fact in 2019 this sounds apart from most anything else

Digging: The Young Gods - Data Mirage Tangram

zakalwe
May 15th 2019


27338 Comments


Authentic.

Can’t quite get me head round the auto tune at the minute though.

DoofDoof
May 15th 2019


3372 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

They’ve always had a penchant for some over produced vocals haven’t they? Maybe not quite this much

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 15th 2019


9425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel like My Side of the Bed does pander a bit though. That's the only song on here that sounds just a bit out of touch and "everything was hunky dory in my old neighbourhood".



And yeah I'm not even sure if the issue with the vocals is pitch correction or just so many layered vocals that it's taken on a life of its own.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 15th 2019


9425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, apparently this has been the band's most successful album thus far since their first one. m/

zakalwe
May 15th 2019


27338 Comments


Cool

Foxcatcher
May 15th 2019


7 Comments


Glad to see some Wildhearts fans on here. One of the most important bands of my youth. First "big" gig, Glasgow Barrowlands, 1994, mate's dad crashed driving us home and we were on such a rocknroll high we barely cared.

zakalwe
May 16th 2019


27338 Comments


90s >

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 16th 2019


9425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[2]

My current hobby is depressing my friends and family by reminding them how long ago the '90s were.

Alucard125
May 16th 2019


609 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'm really enjoying this. Was a big fan of their work from the mid-90s, and this is just the sound of Ginger & Co. having a great time. It's nice to hear them sound so positive, considering the struggles and everything they've been through.



Great review too, you hit the nail on the head with that last paragraph.

Digging: The Wildhearts - Renaissance Men

BigHans
May 16th 2019


29695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

My current hobby is depressing my friends and family by reminding them how long ago the '90s were.



^ Tell me about it. Yesterday I was bragging to one of my coworkers how I was going to see Tool on Friday. He had no idea who they were. I wanted to impale myself on a spike, for being old and shit.

DominionMM1
May 16th 2019


18056 Comments


hopefully you went on a rant about how kids today don't know what good music is

BigHans
May 16th 2019


29695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How could I not? Then I ate a mayo sandwhich and returned to my rocking chair.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
May 16th 2019


9425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You wanna be really depressed? Go to the React youtube channel and watch "Teens react to '90s music."



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy