Aaron West and The Roaring Twenties Routine Maintenance
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ProjectFreak
May 13th 2019


4071 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I like Bar Fight plenty. But honestly I almost feel like this album covers too much ground. Like, we get so much establishing that West is having a bad time, and it all turns around too fast and I'm worried there aren't enough loose ends to keep his story going (calling it now, LP3 will be about him meeting a new woman and struggling with his guilt at how he botched his last relationship)



but also yeah the context of even just knowing how certain names played a role in the story helps a lot. Sure it's not as sprawling as TDH but it's still a good, if a bit cliche, story

MrTonytheGamer
May 13th 2019


64 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wow. Almost every song impressed me to some degree, whether it be lyrically or musically. The only song I see as weaker than the rest is Bury Me Anywhere Else, but even then I still like the song. Fantastic followup to We Don't Have Each Other. I can't wait to hear the rest of the story.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2019


25413 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

am I the only one who isn't invested much in the character or story and just thinks it's great music?

Digging: Latterman - No Matter Where We Go...!

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2019


1282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wouldn't say I'm invested in the story, or at least that's not the word I would use. I don't have specific wishes for where it should go or how it should end. But insofar as it informs the lyrics and callbacks, I do care about it.



I do like that he actually starts the Roaring Twenties on this record. The albums now exist in this weird meta-space. Especially because they basically break up when he goes home.

butt.
May 13th 2019


6501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I agree Atari, i haven't taken the time to read all the lyrics and truly learn the story, although I would like to and intend to. But I just really enjoy the music

Daedus
May 13th 2019


217 Comments


3.9 average, the band.

dmathias52
May 13th 2019


1123 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I definitely agree with Chan on the investment. I have absolutely no idea where the story is going to go and I’m not going to guess. I just enjoy the opportunity to be on the journey.

I read an interview somewhere about the timeline and that this album essentially covers five years, so that is quite the departure from the one year of WDHEO and few weeks of Bittersweet. But I also love the metaness of it and that we’re in the current day. He’s completely committed to the character, which I appreciate.

Digging: Spanish Love Songs - Brave Faces Everyone

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2019


1282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah he even performs live in character

butt.
May 13th 2019


6501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

he's performing as Aaron West and then later in TWY at BLEDfest. stoked as hell. gonna be a long day for him!

dmathias52
May 13th 2019


1123 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Part of the reason I might like Bar Fight so much is this video of him performing it live as Aaron West at a random open mic night: https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=StJ8ofhPJas

Veldin
May 14th 2019


3899 Comments


I'm going to apprehensively listen to this because Bright Eyes is listed as similar band and hope it's not pop-punk bs

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
May 14th 2019


1282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's not pop punk that's for sure

JayEnder
May 14th 2019


6405 Comments


Bar Fight is awesome

butt.
May 14th 2019


6501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Need some americana-ish recs. Love this style, also Gaslight Anthem.

dmathias52
May 14th 2019


1123 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

If you haven’t checked out The Horrible Crowes, which is Brian Fallon’s (lead singer of Gaslight Anthem) side project, I highly, highly recommend that. Might prefer it over Gaslight Anthem honestly!

butt.
May 14th 2019


6501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

wow, good to know!

Clumseee
May 14th 2019


1484 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Oh yeah, Elsie rules.

Feather
May 15th 2019


5738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Will check out the Horrible Crowes

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2019


1282 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not exactly the same, but Nickel Creek is one of the best folk/Americana bands ever

Feather
May 16th 2019


5738 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

^ suggest an album pls and I'll listen on my flight tomorrow



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy