Holly Herndon PROTO
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Sinternet
May 16th 2019


19398 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

i somewhat agree about the jargon-ness of it, but I think the album's intention is to prompt amore academic discussion which Herndon has been doing her whole career. if you get a chance watch some speeches/interviews with her that describe her creative process and her academic background, definitely helped me gain an even bigger appreciation for what she tries to do

Digging: Peggy Gou - Moment

ArsMoriendi
May 16th 2019


26226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Even without knowing about the gimmick, I'd probably like it just because it gives me "Laurie Anderson but modern" vibes

Digging: Foxygen - Take The Kids Off Broadway

ArsMoriendi
May 16th 2019


26226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

her famous song "O Superman (For Massenet)" especially

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2019


17053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

listening now

luci
May 16th 2019


10951 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i expect a third middling review

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2019


17053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

dont worry Im not gonna touch this one with my many words

ArsMoriendi
May 16th 2019


26226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fuck, Sowing just 2'd this



What if the staff review is a 2, that'd be controversial as fuck

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
May 16th 2019


17053 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I hate preeemptively "rating" things in my head but this is not faring well so far. not sure what y'all are seeing

ArsMoriendi
May 16th 2019


26226 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like the 2nd half more than the first and idk It's got the "weird electronic tribal drum + weird voices" thing in it that works

Gyromania
May 16th 2019


27198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

plane - i think you'll dig this, seems like it's up your alley.



robertsona - ah damn. i think i'm 0 for 3 lately with my recs to you :P



to everyone complaining that i placed too strong an emphasis on the ai: i love this album. before i had a true understanding of what she was doing here, i connected with the actual music. i focused on the ai a lot in the review because i think it's fascinating, and because it's great to see artists like her pushing the envelope on what music can be. in interviews she's given it's clear that this is very near and dear to her heart, and i preferred to engage with that.

luci
May 16th 2019


10951 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

starting to think potsy’s 3 is more right than the 5s

SowingSeason
Moderator
May 16th 2019


30735 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

Love the concept hated the execution

Digging: Tyler, the Creator - Igor

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 16th 2019


43138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hate the concept, feel ambivalent about the execution haha

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 16th 2019


43138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also O Superman is vastly superior to anything here

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 16th 2019


43138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Also also @sinternet perhaps that would alter my perspective, I've liked her past material much more than this, but I think even I personally find the idea of academia breaching musical form irksome in general. A cold and clinical way to create something that for me is supposed to be emotive and human

JohnnyOnTheSpot
Emeritus
May 16th 2019


6698 Comments


kinda hated this
Platform >

Gyromania
May 16th 2019


27198 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Damn

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 16th 2019


43138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ye

JS19
May 17th 2019


7112 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't see why academia is so icky to people. It's a social/knowledge structure in the same way that bringing any similar structure to music reframes the context.



Think religion, cultural heritage ect. Just because it's a rarely used one when it comes to artistic creation doesn't mean it doesn't have merit, just that it might be a bit jarring



But then I am in academia so that might have an impact on my thinking

Digging: Tim Hecker - Anoyo

Lord(e)Po)))ts
May 17th 2019


43138 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's not that academia is "icky", and it's not even that looking at music through an academic lens is "icky", (psych of music was one of the funnest electives I ever took when i was in college) it's that the idea of approaching music via science feels counterintuitive.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy