Big Thief U.F.O.F.
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
porcupinetheater
September 4th 2020


4385 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Holy shit, so stoked but hope there’s at least a little of the half-asleep cosmic forest atmosphere this thing’s got

The white light from the living room

Leaking through the crack in the door-sorta mood

theBoneyKing
September 4th 2020


19671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds like there might be some of that atmosphere! She gave some context in an Instagram post:

After the @bigthiefmusic tour was canceled in early March, I drove up to Western Massachusetts, where I was very gratefully able to stay in a small cabin in the Berkshire Mountains just down the trail from my sister. I felt inspired by the way my acoustic guitar sounded in the cabin and wanted to capture the sound. My friend @ithinkimphil drove up in April and we spent the next month recording. I had a handful of songs that I had been planning to start with, but by the time Phil arrived I was very heartsick and new songs surfaced unexpectedly.



There are two records; they are connected but meant to offer separate experiences. One is called ‘songs', nine of which were written freshly during the recording session, and the other record is called ‘instrumentals’-- which emerged from beginning and closing each day with improvised acoustic guitar. I’d like to think that at any time you need or want, you can put on ‘instrumentals’ and have the sensation like a friend is playing guitar to you softly in the room.


porcupinetheater
September 4th 2020


4385 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

She took the Phil Elverum Titling Masterclass, I see

theBoneyKing
September 4th 2020


19671 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha, yeah.

The single she released, "anything" is quite promising.

porcupinetheater
September 4th 2020


4385 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Have to give it a listen, but yeah that approach she’s talking about sounds really interesting and right on brand

AmericanFlagAsh
September 4th 2020


9946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You fof

Sinternet
September 4th 2020


23401 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

hyped



this album is one of those things that was instantly perfect to me the moment i heard it, it's amazing how this kinda updates the late 60s/early 70s folk sound on the more palatable end of the spectrum, which in a world of psych folk revivalists is a breath of fresh air

Digging: Shygirl - ALIAS

Sinternet
September 4th 2020


23401 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

also has some of the best production of the decade

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 24th 2020


20079 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"UFOF" has me thinking about structure and pleasure like



I feel like the beginning motif/main lengthy melody is sooooooo beautiful and then "like a bad dream you disappear" is not as beautiful but keeps up the spell nonetheless (it's a 10/10 song). which has me thinking like is there a song composed of distinct parts (verse/chorus etc.) that really are all 10/10? or is it always necessary to have "counterpoint" in the form of something that's not quite as amazing as dumb as that sounds lol I'll try and think of examples. I guess if you think too hard about this things dont tend to make sense after a while (is THIS note super pleasurable 10/10? how about the next one? what is the unit of pleasure-giving in a song?) lol etc.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
November 24th 2020


20079 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

that lil fuckin drum flourish at the beginning and the moaning sound get me everytime tho damn what a spell that song casts



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy