The Tallest Man on Earth I Love You. It's a Fever Dream.
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
luci
April 24th 2019


10943 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

only as much as you hate that an album wears off yet you're saying 90+ on metacritic

(see: xeno dropping sunbather from 4.7 to 3.8)

AngryJohnny
April 25th 2019


910 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Mattson writes very few bad songs, this is another great set

johnnyblaze
April 25th 2019


3204 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

a step up from Dark Bird in my books... the experimentation here is more delicate and fits his songwriting much better. the brass in Hotel Bar is godly - what a track!

AdolfChrist
April 25th 2019


20939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

[2]

Digging: Deus Mortem - Kosmocide

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 25th 2019


30695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

what do ratings even mean anyway

Digging: Tyler, the Creator - Igor

Thanntos
April 25th 2019


343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

omfg....might be the biggest change up I've ever seen...

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 25th 2019


30695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Normally I'd cover for myself by saying I rushed out my review or something, but I listened to it a good 5 times via that NPR stream, which is at or above my typical threshold for writing a review. It just took the right setting to click I guess. I still think Dark Bird is better, but this is right on par with There's No Leaving Now, which I also loved.

AdolfChrist
April 25th 2019


20939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Gee, who could have foreseen this ;]

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 25th 2019


24616 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Prolly my favorite Sowing score change of all time



Honestly tho ratings are always subject to change and the right setting or moment can surely affect how you feel. At first I didn’t really get the hype for the new Glen Hansard but heard the last 2 tracks again after a long day and they were just perfect.



This is also why I’m not gonna bother with rating wipes anymore. I’d just rather just adjust my scores up or down as needed

Digging: Radiator Hospital - Sings "Music for Daydreaming"

iswimfast
April 25th 2019


1476 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The guitar work on "I'm a Stranger Now" is euphoric.

Gyromania
April 25th 2019


27182 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

i love hotel bar but the rest hasn't really clicked with me, not sure it will, albeit i've only played the album once and a half.

Thanntos
April 25th 2019


343 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think both 'Somewhere in the Mountains' and 'Forever is a Very Long Time' from his last EP would have worked well on this album. 39 mins is far too short, and both has the same gritty production/sound, and it could have made the album a bit more lively overall. Still, close to perfect.

Lucman
April 25th 2019


2536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A 4.5 now, Sow? That's awesome to see haha

Digging: Shiina Ringo - Shouso Strip

Darius the Great
April 25th 2019


20426 Comments


daddy Sowing you have proved your illegitimacy with this rating alteration

what will your infant son say

Doibhin69
April 26th 2019


368 Comments


First three albums will always be best.

SandwichBubble
April 26th 2019


9611 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Not as good as the first few albums, but I'm pleasantly surprised by this.

AdolfChrist
April 26th 2019


20939 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This might become my favorite along with Shallow Grave.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
April 27th 2019


15477 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Why are rating wipes a thing? Just change the score as you do, man...

Anyway this is great, "Hotel Bar" is just beautiful and on the whole this is much much better than The Wild Hunt

SowingSeason
Moderator
April 27th 2019


30695 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

I totally understand the appeal of rating wipes. Sometimes you have 2k ratings or more and the entire justification for how you've scaled your ratings doesn't make sense anymore. Hell, I'd do it right now if it wouldn't mess up my reviews and soundoffs.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
April 27th 2019


24616 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

glad you dug this so much, neek!



I love "Hotel Bar" but why is that the only song being discussed lol. last 3 tracks are pretty much perfection



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy