Polkadot Stingray Uchōten
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2019


13599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I very much get that your issue and think it's relevant to a lot of indie...although on the other hand, that aloofness can easily feel like it's in denial of something more in quite a powerful way (both in the way it's performed and in my personal listening attitudes). Obviously this is misgauged by a lot of artists and isn't appealing to all listeners, but I it's summed up perfectly in a stanza in Pavement's Gold Soundz (and tbh that whole song):



So drunk in the August sun

And you're the kind of girl I like

Because you're empty and I'm empty

And you can never quarantine the past



For a song and band that rocked that slacker, aloof attitude and is superficially about nothingness and aimlessness, there's something deeply maudlin and moving there, to me anyway. Not disagreeing with you, just also enjoying the discussion (especially since that vibe of indie is v much the opposite of this album lol)!

Digging: Blonde Redhead - 23

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2019


15471 Comments


WHoa, this is not a rev, this is a THESIS! Great job Johnny, gonna jam and read!

Digging: Ioanna Gika - Thalassa

ashcrash9
April 11th 2019


3044 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review is fantastic, Johnny. On my first listen now and digging it even more than I expected to, even though the length is def a bit excessive for what they're doing.

Saros
April 11th 2019


232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh man, this is neat. I was pleasantly surprised to see this review on the front page. Didn't think anyone was going to do a review of them anytime soon, but I'm good to be wrong. Glad to see people getting interested in this band, they're super fun.

GreyShadow
April 12th 2019


3002 Comments


her voice is incredible. If all of these are in the same ballpark as the first 2 I heard, this is going to be one of the best albums of 2019.

Digging: La Dispute - Panorama

Scheumke
April 12th 2019


528 Comments


Started on the third song as you said it was one of the clear highlights, and yeah it got me interested alright. Will jam it in full soon. Indeed amazing review btw: "WHoa, this is not a rev, this is a THESIS!" [2]

Digging: Glen Hansard - This Wild Willing

zakalwe
April 12th 2019


27021 Comments


Fitting cos this is total fucking feaces

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2019


13599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bam !

Momentai
April 12th 2019


134 Comments


Gonna say damn. Impossible to listen to this and not have a damn smile on my face. Really helps cheer ya up with these bouncy fun tunes.

Saros
April 12th 2019


232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually didn't like Rhythmy at first because it was so drastic a change in sound from what I usually heard them do, but it really ended up growing on me.

Momentai
April 13th 2019


134 Comments


Ryhthmy is tied for my favorite with the opener

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2019


13599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rhythmy is right up with the best here, really well executed

GreyShadow
April 15th 2019


3002 Comments


this is so fun. these guys are both riff and hookmasters. best pop album I've heard in a while

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2019


13599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jamming this again and I swear it gets better every time

Saros
April 15th 2019


232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Anyone who's digging this should check their debut too. It's just as good as this one.

GreyShadow
April 15th 2019


3002 Comments


It's not on spotify, that's annoying -.- but will do! I'm tempted to 4.5 this

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2019


13599 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do it do it! Debut is definitely on my list, will check once I'm tired of this ;]

Uzumaki
April 15th 2019


769 Comments


Their debut is really good; very solid album.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy