Polkadot Stingray Uchōten
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 11th 2019


20099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I very much get that your issue and think it's relevant to a lot of indie...although on the other hand, that aloofness can easily feel like it's in denial of something more in quite a powerful way (both in the way it's performed and in my personal listening attitudes). Obviously this is misgauged by a lot of artists and isn't appealing to all listeners, but I it's summed up perfectly in a stanza in Pavement's Gold Soundz (and tbh that whole song):



So drunk in the August sun

And you're the kind of girl I like

Because you're empty and I'm empty

And you can never quarantine the past



For a song and band that rocked that slacker, aloof attitude and is superficially about nothingness and aimlessness, there's something deeply maudlin and moving there, to me anyway. Not disagreeing with you, just also enjoying the discussion (especially since that vibe of indie is v much the opposite of this album lol)!

Digging: REOL - Kinjitou

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2019


17620 Comments


WHoa, this is not a rev, this is a THESIS! Great job Johnny, gonna jam and read!

Digging: ...And You Will Know Us by the Trail of Dead - X: The Godless Void and Other Stories

ashcrash9
April 12th 2019


3096 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Review is fantastic, Johnny. On my first listen now and digging it even more than I expected to, even though the length is def a bit excessive for what they're doing.

Saros
April 12th 2019


347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh man, this is neat. I was pleasantly surprised to see this review on the front page. Didn't think anyone was going to do a review of them anytime soon, but I'm good to be wrong. Glad to see people getting interested in this band, they're super fun.

GreyShadow
April 12th 2019


3609 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

her voice is incredible. If all of these are in the same ballpark as the first 2 I heard, this is going to be one of the best albums of 2019.

Scheumke
April 12th 2019


1449 Comments


Started on the third song as you said it was one of the clear highlights, and yeah it got me interested alright. Will jam it in full soon. Indeed amazing review btw: "WHoa, this is not a rev, this is a THESIS!" [2]

zakalwe
April 12th 2019


29682 Comments


Fitting cos this is total fucking feaces

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2019


20099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bam !

Momentai
April 12th 2019


190 Comments


Gonna say damn. Impossible to listen to this and not have a damn smile on my face. Really helps cheer ya up with these bouncy fun tunes.

Saros
April 12th 2019


347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually didn't like Rhythmy at first because it was so drastic a change in sound from what I usually heard them do, but it really ended up growing on me.

Momentai
April 13th 2019


190 Comments


Ryhthmy is tied for my favorite with the opener

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 13th 2019


20099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Rhythmy is right up with the best here, really well executed

GreyShadow
April 15th 2019


3609 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is so fun. these guys are both riff and hookmasters. best pop album I've heard in a while

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 15th 2019


20099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jamming this again and I swear it gets better every time

Saros
April 16th 2019


347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Anyone who's digging this should check their debut too. It's just as good as this one.

GreyShadow
April 16th 2019


3609 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's not on spotify, that's annoying -.- but will do! I'm tempted to 4.5 this

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2019


20099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do it do it! Debut is definitely on my list, will check once I'm tired of this ;]

Uzumaki
April 16th 2019


1931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Their debut is really good; very solid album.

Digging: Time, The Valuator - How Fleeting, How Fragile

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
June 11th 2019


20099 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bump because this still sounds like one of the best things out this year. Time to get on that debut...

coachcake
June 11th 2019


14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not sure how I missed it but there's a new single from them pretty recently. Very much sounds like it would fit really well on this record.



The fun factor hasn't worn of in the slightest so far on this record, doubt it will any time soon



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy