Laura Stevenson The Big Freeze
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 31st 2019


42583 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Moreso than her last one which I gave a 1.5

Digging: Cvd - Elsewhere Nowhere

Firedust
March 31st 2019


895 Comments


Agreed hard.

TheLongShot
March 31st 2019


749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good shit, although I could maybe see this growing off me. This is my first Laura record actually, where should I go next?

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2019


712 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the one that's actually the most similar in sound to this is her first album (A Record) just because it's very folky. but Sit Resist and Wheel are both classics, and Cocksure is very, very good as well.

dimsim3478
March 31st 2019


8202 Comments


where should I go next?

Sit Resist or A Record

Digging: Coff - Tiny Music

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2019


31514 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

i got 555555.0 on it

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 31st 2019


30225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Excellent review as always.

"She’s now reached a point in her career where music journalists write articles wondering why she isn’t more popular" / "My life’s work is waiting for a train to come,” she sang almost a decade ago. Then the train came and left her behind."

I hate when this happens to incredible and obviously deserving talents. Often, they lose out on recognition in favor of an artist who comes along years later and streamlines the sound - but in this case it's even more unfathomable because there really isn't anything unapproachable about her music.

I dropped my wife off at a bridal shower yesterday and didn't really know what to do for those two/three hours, so I drove around the area looking for shops, etc. spinning The Big Freeze all afternoon. It was the first 70+ degree day in PA, and something about the slow draw of these beautiful arrangements felt like the backdrop to spring. I ended up finding a little hiking trail and re-listening to the entire thing with earbuds while walking along a river. I already feel bound to this in a way that I haven't with any other Stevenson record. It's truly amazing.

Digging: Glen Hansard - This Wild Willing

klap
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2019


12086 Comments

Album Rating: 3.9

Living Room NY >>>>>

Digging: Weyes Blood - Titanic Rising

Ponton
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2019


6732 Comments


ive never listened to her before, but i did like that track when i youtubed.

great review

Digging: Grizzly Bear - Shields

AngryJohnny
March 31st 2019


901 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Very rarely buy music but I've bought this

the stuff in the review about Laura being unfairly left behind when it comes to popular recognition is bang on

Snake.
March 31st 2019


21582 Comments


“dumb indie hipster bullshit”

-firedust’s reasoning behind his 1

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
March 31st 2019


31514 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

this might eclipse cocksure as her best

budgie
March 31st 2019


8836 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

cuuuz iim WAAAAASTIN AWAAAY MMYYY LIIIFE AAAND YEEES iiiim beeein a jeeellyyfiiiish

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 31st 2019


42583 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

I gave sit resist a 4 way back when apparently, I wonder if that would hold up if I listened to it now all things considered

foxblood
March 31st 2019


9491 Comments


don't compare this slag to Elvis please

nightbringer
March 31st 2019


269 Comments


This review has got my attention. Will check this out.

Tempertemperature
March 31st 2019


194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Giving a 1.0 to an album you just find uninteresting reeks of attention seeking to me. I have no trouble picturing someone coming away disinterested from this but a 1.0? Jeez tough crowd

Upon first listen this kind of passed me by in the blink of an eye and I felt that it all sounded too similar and subdued for my liking. After a couple subsequent listens I've grown to love the subtlety and beauty in this record. The arrangements here are fantastic and her voice has never sounded better. I sometimes find myself yearning for her backing band and wishing it were more varied, but the album is over before these thoughts manifest themselves into true criticisms. As someone who thought Cocksure was uneven, this is pretty much what I didn't realize I wanted from her. This will end up being anywhere from a 4 to a 5 for me.

nolerthebowler
March 31st 2019


3463 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

she gotta cute nose (:

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 31st 2019


42583 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

I'm sorry you dont like the arbitrary number I've assigned to this music to express my feelings for it. I can assure you my attentions are not malevolent as the impact from my rating and the minute amount of attention it might draw from the ~5 users in this thread is measurably insignificant and quite trite. If I needed attention I'd likely just go whine at my partner to give me a pat on the head rather than prey on the bakers dozen of LS fans here

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 31st 2019


42583 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

Also I'm not a masochist and dont really actively seek out negative attention over positive attention



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy