American Football American Football (LP3)
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
zarling53
March 15th 2019


37 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't get why so many people hated LP2. It wasn't amazing but it was pretty good. The band was put on such a pedestal that anything they released would've been hated. I guarantee if LP3 was released then people would've dogged it just as much ( and people would be praising LP2 if it was released now). People just needed time to accept American Football was coming out of a museum left untouched and that the perfect hyped legacy was gonna be broken.

QuinnObropta
March 15th 2019


143 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't usually agree with Fantano but his LP2 review was pretty on point, I think this and LP1 are on the same level but they're very different albums

Point1
March 15th 2019


710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

LP2 had basically the exist same sound as LP1 but with awful vocals and lyrics.

Ambrosian
March 15th 2019


148 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I wish I could enjoy this band as much as when i was teenager

veninblazer
March 15th 2019


10169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

The vocals were fine, not as pitchy as on LP1, but the lyrics didn't do much. Musically it wasn't nearly as ethereal. @Point1

Digging: Dayseeker - Sleeptalk

Ocean of Noise
March 15th 2019


10721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The vocals on LP2 are exactly the same as on here though.



The thing I didn't like about LP2 was how safe the songwriting was. It was a boring retread of the ideas from LP1. This album actually expands those ideas and brings the classic AF sound into 2019 while keeping things fresh.

Digging: Cradle of Filth - Dusk and Her Embrace

veninblazer
March 15th 2019


10169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

^^^^ yeah that makes sense

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 15th 2019


8142 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The vocals on LP2 are wayyyyy higher in the mix, it's obnoxious

This is more atmospheric and that suits the vox well

Digging: Jimmy Eat World - Surviving

butt.
March 15th 2019


5164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yes, and the vox are fewer and further between

Relinquished
March 15th 2019


41506 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

less Owen, more AF basically

Ocean of Noise
March 15th 2019


10721 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah that's fair. tbh I'm not an enormous fan of the vocals but the songs and arrangements are just amazing

veninblazer
March 15th 2019


10169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

honestly prefer how subdued the vocals are here, on AF1 they had a tendency to get a little pitchy

NXIVM
March 15th 2019


88 Comments


if this album rating was a steak I would want it medium rare

intheinbetween
March 15th 2019


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice improvement over LP2, Life Support is beautiful

veninblazer
March 15th 2019


10169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

godddd yesssss that song is amazing

JayEnder
March 15th 2019


5482 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Every Wave to Ever Rise >>>

Digging: Blood Incantation - Hidden History of the Human Race

veninblazer
March 15th 2019


10169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

This entire album >>>

JayEnder
March 15th 2019


5482 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a fantastic album, and much more captivating than LP2. However, LP1 is still the bees knees. The ultimate 5. Can’t be beaten.

veninblazer
March 15th 2019


10169 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Understandable

Prancer
March 15th 2019


1017 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this album is so cozy



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy