Solange
When I Get Home


3.5
great

Review

by neekafat CONTRIBUTOR (54 Reviews)
March 14th, 2019 | 37 replies


Release Date: 2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: easy listening

Freeing herself from any kind of hype given its surprise nature, Solange eschewed any long term questions of how it would fare compared to its successful predecessor. The opener “Things I Imagined” both offers a shrug to this thought and sets a good example for the rest of the album. Keeping things simple on the surface level, it quietly bubbles under with devious electronic warbling and eccentric guitar work, enveloping herself and her words inside of the music rather than using the sound as a tool to preach her message.

No, this time the music is the message. Gone are the oppressively thematic interludes that demand your understanding, and in come swirling atmospheres that turn her truth outward instead of inward. This time there are no demands of the listener. The album floats on by, motioning to you to lend an ear to the creativity brewing under the simple beats and lyrics, but passing it off as a friendly wave if you choose not to. It’s the sound of Solange not needing to prove herself to anyone. For all its ease, it’s a muscular and confident recording, playing endlessly with switches, loops, chops, and screws. "Sound of Rain" acts as the most assured and blissful combination of all these elements. Carefully crafted layer upon layer create a constantly shifting yet smooth listening experience, transporting you to another world just as her epitomal "Cranes in the Sky" did years ago. Like its parent album, it’s curious—if not experimental—with tinges of Gospel, electronic, and hip-hop coursing through a sturdy body of r&b that’s just as easy to throw on in the background and chill to as it is to purposefully digest with a critical lens.

In fact, it can be a bit too easy to lose yourself into the music. Even by my fourth listen, I would forget that certain songs existed. But then again, I have to remind myself that these songs don't exist so much on individual terms as they form supporting beams to the overall tone and vibe of the album. Lines between tracks are blissfully blurred, as “Binz” plays as a funkier aftertaste to the straightforward balladry “Jerrod.” She constructs and deconstructs these tunes to meet her whims, as any great artist might, though this time to the point where the craft of the sound is far more entrancing than the songs themselves.

Often when I give an album this rating, it implies that I’m a bit mixed. That I enjoyed it, but that there was something conflicting that stopping it from reaching its full potential. This is not the case here. Sure, I’d love to see her expand these curiosities into fuller ideas and catchier songs, but that’s simply not her goal right now. This is a very good album. It’s a mood. A mood that’s about as good as it could be given what it’s setting out to do. And there’s something quietly satisfying about that.



Recent reviews by this author
Glen Hansard This Wild WillingNilufer Yanya Miss Universe
Mykele Deville MaintainLos Unidades Global Citizen EP 1
Tierra Whack Whack WorldLucy Dacus Historian
user ratings (113)
Chart.
3.3
great
related reviews

True

A Seat at the Table

Comments:Add a Comment 
neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2019


15211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Been tossing this around my head for a while now, finally forced myself to get it out but not sure if I got it right (:

"Sound of Rain": https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Tky406Tczwk

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2019


41599 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice. I wish the production didn't completely overshadow her like it does but you make a good point, solid work

Digging: Broken Social Scene - Let's Try the After - Vol. 2

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2019


15531 Comments


Great review man, really like how you structured it and it gives a general idea of the album without too many spoilers. Honestly, I was waiting for a review for this before deciding to give it a shot or not lol

(Btw, in second para, " to lend an hear" you mean "ear" maybe?)

Digging: Otoboke Beaver - Itekoma Hits

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2019


15211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks a bunch guys, feel like we're still on the same page a bit about it rowan!

And thanks for that catch, didn't spend enough time proofing this! I've been having a harder time writing longer reviews just structurally so maybe that's why it's not too detailed haha (:

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2019


8941 Comments


Length ain't a requirement in my opinion. Obviously, try to keep it from being too short or too long--I think there's a boundary there somewhere--but I think a given review can be accomplished however the writer wants so long as they do it well. And hey, this is done well, so no worries!

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 14th 2019


30270 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good read. This did nothing for me but I like her as an artist.

Digging: Glen Hansard - This Wild Willing

Relinquished
March 14th 2019


39631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good review, but I'd re-do the last paragraph since it kinda messes the flow of it

TheSpirit
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2019


25121 Comments


Nice review! I'm gonna check this later today

Digging: Remete (AUS) - Into Endless Night

hadeserbonfa
March 14th 2019


150 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

this record passes by unnoticed

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 14th 2019


15211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks y'all (:

Tyler.
March 14th 2019


16687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

slaps

Pangea
March 14th 2019


2960 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

nice review

Digging: The Tallest Man on Earth - I Love You. It's a Fever Dream.

CaliggyJack
March 14th 2019


2798 Comments


Was this the relative that groped Jay-Z in the elevator or was that somebody else?

Relinquished
March 14th 2019


39631 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

in tyler's words, she slapped him in the elevator

CaliggyJack
March 14th 2019


2798 Comments


Oh shit you right I musta mixed that up with somethin else.

Just watched the footage... DAMN DIS BITCH CRAZY.

Tyler.
March 14th 2019


16687 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

id let her slap me in an elevator yeah

CaliggyJack
March 14th 2019


2798 Comments


LUL

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
March 15th 2019


15211 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

had no idea about that tbh

CaliggyJack
March 15th 2019


2798 Comments


Yeah it's fucking weird. One minute their in what looks like an argument, and then she just starts wailing on Jay, kickin punchin and shit. The funniest part is that Beyonce just stood there and did nothing until it got too far. For most of it she just stood there and let her attack him.

Fucking bizarre.

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
March 15th 2019


15531 Comments


I didn't even know she was Beyonce's sister.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy