Stella Donnelly Beware Of The Dogs
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
AmericanFlagAsh
March 14th 2019


8663 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"all rapists know exactly what they're doing is wrong"



I honestly don't think that's true. Some men are raised to believe that women are just inferior and that they should obey or be used by them. To them, it's not wrong. They might know it's illegal, but probably think it shouldn't be. Plus the whole mentality of "I can do this and get away with it" is really the forefront in the music here.



And yes men use cute to describe music by women subconsciously, even if it's heartbreaking. I've probably done it before and I'm gay. Like Joanna Newsom singing about her miscarriages.

Digging: Stella Donnelly - Beware Of The Dogs

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 14th 2019


29902 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I'm kind of over this whole sad indie chick with a guitar singing pop shtick. Maybe I just OD'd on the style in 2018, but to me this sounds just like everyone else in the genre.

Point1
March 14th 2019


425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sowing, as someone who is truly over that genre (Snail Mail, Julia Jacklin, Tomberlin, Soccer Mommy, Lucy Dacus) this is the one album in the style that has actually grabbed my attention. Because it's not a sad indie chick, it's an angry indie chick.



Even if the instrumentals are kind of typical summery ever-indie-pop-band-since-Mac-DeMarco, her voice is so pretty and the tone of these songs is often so biting and angry that it really works for me. The song writing is for the most part air tight, the lyrics are compelling to me, and overall it's pretty much the best possible album in the "reverby dim7 chords indie-pop" genre.



To me this is like if Alvvays had any personality whatsoever.

Point1
March 14th 2019


425 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wading into the "cute" thing, I think it's fair because this album goes for cute as a pastiche and counterpoint to the lyrics. Like listen to "Tricks" and tell me that it's not supposed to be a twee cutesy indie pop song.



There are "cute" male indie pop songs, like Such Great Heights or hell even that Rip Tide dreck from a few years ago.

verdant
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2019


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sowing....................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................que

dmathias52
March 14th 2019


147 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh yeah I definitely am one of the people who use cute subconsciously as well. Like I kind of just anticipated this being cute going into it. And yeah, “Tricks” is the perfect example of it and (I think) a song describing what she’s going for with the countering of this idea in the lyrics.



You only like me when I do my tricks for you/And you wear me out like you wear that Southern cross tattoo/You said I’d look much better if I drop the attitude/Leave it alone

Digging: Stella Donnelly - Beware Of The Dogs

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2019


24369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I actually wouldn't lump this together with the "sad indie chick" songwriters



it's too quirky, abrasive and tongue-in-cheek to be sad imo. I feel cute is a good descriptor honestly





Digging: Gorguts - Colored Sands

rabidfish
March 14th 2019


4900 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

sowing ur definitely experiencing burn-out lol. take a break, mate.

Digging: Haruomi Hosono - Hochono House

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 14th 2019


24369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

pretty sure I listen to this kinda stuff more than Sowing and I still found it to be refreshing, so maybe it's just not for him lol

CaliggyJack
March 14th 2019


2781 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with Sowing partly, but I rarely hear "sad-indie chick" music anymore.



Angry-indie chick music? Now that's everywhere.

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 14th 2019


29902 Comments

Album Rating: 3.7

I'll give this another spin just for ya'll, but yeah this didn't impress me. I wanted to like it because Heynderickx, Bridgers, Tomberlin, et al all rocked my world...this just didn't feel like it was on the same level.

Slex
March 14th 2019


6248 Comments


This is way weirder than 'just another sad indie chick'

Digging: Shin Guard - 2020

verdant
Staff Reviewer
March 15th 2019


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

stella isn't sad, she's pissed off

DamnVanne
March 15th 2019


3007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

There aren’t enough fart emojis on the whole internet to convey how quickly this went from intriguing and novel to white noise indie schlock

DamnVanne
March 15th 2019


3007 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Thank u next

Cormano
March 16th 2019


1396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm loving this record so much I can't get over how good Watching Telly is

and yeah I agree with her not being another sad core indie darling, not by a long stretch, in fact, I believe that's what's been drawing me towards her this much, girl's got a lot to say



this thing is bitter and sweet in great doses



"To me this is like if Alvvays had any personality whatsoever"

dude Molly can shred hard and In Undertow is like the best song ever

Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 16th 2019


24369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah her music is addicting. I've had this and her EP stuck in my head all week

Slex
March 16th 2019


6248 Comments


Alvvays is incredible

Cormano
March 16th 2019


1396 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

addicting is the word I'd use yeah, need to get to that EP asap



also has anyone talked about her t h i c c australian accent yet? Cause I absolutely adore it

clavier
Staff Reviewer
March 17th 2019


848 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i like this album for its combination of bluntness, humour, anger and that vibrator line on Mosquito is too real. and yeah, the album shouldn't really be characterized as sad, even the more conventionally sad songs (e.g. Allergies) have a sort of energy/charm to them



and as for cuteness, describing this as cute doesn't seem unjustified; what's interesting is that "cute" usually implies harmlessness and this album absolutely does not go for harmless; as mentioned by others, it's an interesting juxtaposition/subversion. i get where stella's coming from with her frustration and i feel like it's almost a necessary step to adopt that initial "cute" facade/impression so as to make the message more palatable and digestible (if she's already getting accused of saying cringy sjw propaganda imagine how much worse it could be if the music was straightforwardly angry)





Digging: Feed Me Jack - Ultra Ego



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy