Stella Donnelly Beware Of The Dogs
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
verdant
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2019


2422 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i am a white male and i hold no guilt about being white or being male but inequality is a thing that exists right??

Ev1lToaster
March 11th 2019


185 Comments


So, this inequality is perpetuated by us white males eh? We're predisposed to misogyny and what not right? If you're a white male aren't you a little sick of sjw talking about our supposed privilege over every other race on the planet? And how could you encourage microaggrrssions bro? That literally destroys free speech, because who knows what someone's going to be 'triggered' by.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2019


8015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I genuinely appreciate that yr willing to have a real discussion about this, but I don't quite understand yr argument

Regardless, I don't mind people talking about white privilege because it's a real thing, and there's a fine line between free speech and hate speech

Digging: Blood Cultures - Oh Uncertainty! A Universe Despairs

Ev1lToaster
March 11th 2019


185 Comments


I'm just a little sick of seeing so many people patting themselves on the back for being 'conscious' of their 'privilege'. Most of us are unprivileged, regardless of race or sex or religion. But as far as gender equality goes? We are in INFINITELY better shape these days. I would say the majority of males aren't misogynistic, I think people are inherently good on the whole and I just don't care for fluff pieces like this with these pseudo politics that make presuppositions that come across as preachy and deluded.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 11th 2019


45018 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Why are you so bothered tho? Neither the artist or the reviewer is laying a personal attack on you. Look I'm a white dude too and I dont agree with a lot of fourth wave feminist perspectives either but like opinions and experiences are subjective man. it's not like reverse attitudes havent been prevalent for ages, if people feel like talking about intersectionality issues in their music that's their prerogative.

Digging: ((( O ))) - ((( 1 )))

Ev1lToaster
March 11th 2019


185 Comments


Yeah no Slex, I'm not a proponent of "white privilege" culture. I think it sends a dangerous message to the uninitiated public that 'white' = bad, or gluttonous, uncaring, etc. People need to stop assigning blame to white males for real world problems, and isolated instances of cruelty.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2019


8015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I would say this is not at all a fluff piece, it's a dialogue between the reviewer and themes of this album. If Jack wrote this with no context I'd understand yr argument but that's not the case, the context here is crucial

rabidfish
March 11th 2019


5365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i mean, i get the sentiment... "how can i be privileged if i'm as fucked as everyone else? ain't got economical stability, ain't got a decent housing, ain't got decent job, barely make it through life as is, then how am i the bad guy?"



y'all need to understand that there are higher structures at play here that have systematically opressed and kept people, especially non-white, non-male, non-heterosexual people, out of decent housing, out of decent jobs, out of decent education, for centuries. It's not about you.

Digging: (Sandy) Alex G - House Of Sugar

sixdegrees
March 11th 2019


6812 Comments


cant wait to not listen to this, thanks for the review

Digging: Pastel Ghost - Ethereality

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 11th 2019


45018 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I could criticize the lack of discernment in a lot of super left-wing ideologies all day long but at the same time getting personally outraged isnt a very convincing look and it doesn't attract a sympathetic response either

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2019


8015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yr stance is definitely respectful toaster, we're just on opposite sides here

rabidfish
March 11th 2019


5365 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

but i agree, attacking individuals for what are absolutely rooted behaviours that are only a consecuence of a crooked system can be a little petty and short-sighted.

Like, don't stop talking with your parents because they said the word "faggot" that one time, lol.

Sinternet
March 11th 2019


20309 Comments


white privilege exists in many western countries. it doesn't mean that white people are to blame for anything in particular, and some people with five twitter followers misuse it i'm sure, but actually all it does is make the distinction that whatever issues may be holding someone back in society, the colour of their skin/ethnic background is not a factor in that. you can still be underprivileged and white obviously, and the same with being a man, because the biggest divider and token of privilege in society is and likely always will be class (a black female millionaire has way more privilege than a white male rough sleeping), again, it just means that those specific attributes aren't what's holding you back if anything is

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

clavier
Staff Reviewer
March 11th 2019


1020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Does anyone know what real feminism actually is?"



no, because i doubt there's a way to distinguish between different forms of feminism as being more or less *real*



Digging: Seizures - Reverie of the Revolving Diamond

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2019


8015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Perfectly stated Sint

Ev1lToaster
March 11th 2019


185 Comments


Jack is obviously a very talented writer, especially for his age, but this stuff rubs me the wrong way. I think it's factually incorrect and sets a bad precedent. That whole thing about subjective experiences is part of the cultural divide I think. People have negative experiences and so then have biases towards a certain gender, race, etc. But that shouldn't be encouraged. I shouldn't be told to walk on eggshells around my female friends. It's just a review, Im just validating my claims against it. I strongly disagree with the messages, which I find very provocative and decided to comment on. And I have to say, this whole idea that women don't have agency in the world is just fundamentally wrong. It's the kind of social disconnect that reminds me of the countless number of people saying "Black Panther was important for the medium" as if Blade wasn't a thing. There is a real dialogue to have about feminism, but fourth wave femimism is actually so counter intuitive to its cause.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2019


8015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

To be fair, Black Panther is important because it was made exclusively by black people as opposed to Blade (which I fucking love and think is important in its own right)

Ev1lToaster
March 11th 2019


185 Comments


That's a great point Sinternet, but again I think those distinctions are dangerous and factually incorrect. Here in Canada we live with equal opportunity. Many many many different ethnic backgrounds comprises Canada's DNA and still it's "white privilege" privilege should be assigned based on region, not race. That further alienates and spreads misinformation.

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 11th 2019


45018 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yeah sint is on it. Dont let annoying westerners with social media access, half a brain, and a penchant for hypocrisy misconstrue valid concepts for you.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 11th 2019


8015 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Canada is a very different beast than America tho, that's context again



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy