Stella Donnelly Beware Of The Dogs
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2019


24372 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

There’s definitely something special about this

Digging: Gorguts - Colored Sands

SmurkinGherkin
March 10th 2019


1941 Comments


So what does the music sounds like?

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2019


8884 Comments


I see where people would complain about the lack of deliberation given to the music, which is a fault in the review. However, in terms of delving into its context and atmosphere, this was very well done and nicely composed, as is expected from your writing. Pleasant read and nicely put

Digging: Ni - Pantophobie

Ev1lToaster
March 10th 2019


185 Comments


Definitely a great review. Tell us more about how white males are toxic and how we should encourage a society of walking on eggshells around everyone, lest we trigger somebody via a microaggrrssion

SteakByrnes
March 10th 2019


14478 Comments


Great review Jack baby ily ❤️

Digging: Ghost Atlas - Sleep Therapy: An Acoustic Performance

Jasdevi087
March 10th 2019


5434 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

damn eviltoaster save some coochie for the rest of us

NorthernSkylark
March 10th 2019


9132 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

gonna fuck up my life brb

Digging: Avey Tare - Cows On Hourglass Pond

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 10th 2019


41758 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i mean yeah this review gets stuck on the politics and doesn't say much about the music itself and yeah the album isn't actually very good but...



her political views are obviously a well from which she draws a lot of her inspiration and a big component of her appeal to a lot of her fans. If the messages here trigger you so much that you need to patronize the reviewer for merely summarizing the themes and concepts, you're probably a bit of a bigot.

Digging: Edyth - Bare II

Slex
March 10th 2019


6258 Comments


Or, they don't possess the reading comprehension to understand that in the first place lol. Either/or

Digging: Shin Guard - 2020

verdant
Staff Reviewer
March 10th 2019


2397 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what this guy said

love u potsy thank you

edit: plus slex and mostly everyone else in this thread you're all great

Slex
March 10th 2019


6258 Comments


< 3

Still can't settle on a rating for this but keep coming back to it so that's a good sign

rabidfish
March 10th 2019


4906 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

the music here, when there's a complete band playing at least, is quite good and fun.

Digging: Haruomi Hosono - Hochono House

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 10th 2019


41758 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

it would be hard to write about this strictly from a musical angle anyways, its pretty minimal and straight forward songwriting, which is all it really needs to be to serve as a canvas for what she wants to say, as is often the case with singer-songwriter stuff.



i understand the appeal and the review gave me a pretty spot on idea of what it was going to sound like and whether or not it would be my cup of tea without having to be like "this is a singer songwriter album, it has guitar and singing". like duh, but less obviously, whats the sentiment? you explained it well.

rabidfish
March 10th 2019


4906 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i feel a review doesn't necesarily need to divulge how an album sounds... You can use it as startpoint to talk about something that you think is cool or uncool about the album, or take something that the album is enaging with and say something about that, or maybe try to describe more how it makes you feel rather than how it sounds like, or whatever. Shit ain't science, bro.

Slex
March 10th 2019


6258 Comments


There's reviews all the time that focus more on thematic/sentiment, the only reason people have a hang-up here is because they gotta scream 'Not ALL men', so to speak

MarsKid
Contributing Reviewer
March 10th 2019


8884 Comments


Not all men are toasters

Lord(e)Po)))ts
March 10th 2019


41758 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"i feel a review doesn't necesarily need to divulge how an album sounds... You can use it as startpoint to talk about something that you think is cool or uncool about the album, or take something that the album is enaging with and say something about that, or maybe try to describe more how it makes you feel rather than how it sounds like, or whatever. Shit ain't science, bro."



exactly, genre is hardly the sole indicator of relatability in music.

Ev1lToaster
March 10th 2019


185 Comments


The reviewer told us to be wary of microaggrrssions (lol) and then dogged white males for being misogynistic. If that's the kind of message I can expect from this album then I'm shocked that anyone would be stupid enough to defend it.

Slex
March 10th 2019


6258 Comments


Ugh lol

Ev1lToaster
March 10th 2019


185 Comments


Other people pointed it out too. Am I losing my mind here or something? Does anyone know what real feminism actually is? Can we stop blaming white males for everything please?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy