Copeland Blushing
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 5th 2019


15209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

class review sow, and an unbelievable milestone. makes me curious who has the most reviews on this site

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 5th 2019


29902 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

It's me. I never forced out reviews to try to be the highest, it just sort of happened over the course of 10+ years, apparently I average about 40/yr. I'm sure as long as the site doesn't go under permanently, that someone will eventually surpass me.

ButtBoy
March 5th 2019


2286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Do you ever run into problems with repetition? I feel like after 400 reviews it could get hard to describe an album without using words/phrases/analogies that you've used a ton already. I haven't noticed this in your reviews at all, how do you do it?? lol

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 5th 2019


29902 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I appreciate that you think so, but I'm sure there's repetition in a lot of phrasings/descriptions. Would be almost impossible not to after 400 times. I do try to vary my approach between conversational, formal, personal, musical focus/lyrical focus, etc to try to keep things fresh.

JS19
March 5th 2019


7053 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I just can't say the atmosphere is pulling me in, it feels a bit flat and fake but I have no idea why. Will keep giving it spins cos i trust you'se opinions innit

Digging: Bersarin Quartett - Bersarin Quartett

ButtBoy
March 5th 2019


2286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

really?? that's crazy, the atmosphere is what pulls me in the most. Pope, Suddenly, and On Your Worst Day in particular feel full of authentic atmosphere. Give it a few more spins before giving up! It's a grower in my experience

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 5th 2019


29902 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I think it helps if you focus in on the lyrics. That made the atmosphere click for me personally.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
March 5th 2019


8187 Comments


"As we desperately splash hues upon our canvas, pleading with the colors to make sense"

That's a beautiful fucking sentence.

Also, as a general point, it looks like you love asides but you need some em-dashes in your life—they will change your life.

Danred97
March 5th 2019


2044 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Great review as always Sowing! Congrats on 400. I must say I'm in love with this album. Thanks to Rowan for his phenomenal review and you for hyping it further. This album is an almost transcendental experience. I get to the end of tracks like Lay Here and Night Figures and I'm almost shaking. Never heard anything from this band, but this album has made me a fan. You could for real drown in the warm atmosphere this album provides. Such a entrancing record.

ButtBoy
March 5th 2019


2286 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Goddammit this probably would have hit 4 again today if it weren’t for Papa

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 6th 2019


29902 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks so much Sitar, that was admittedly one of my favorite sentences while writing this! And unless it's sarcasm, I think I possibly overuse dashes (-) as sentence connectors - so I'm sort of missing your point there or maybe overlooking it?

And hell yeah Danred, this is most definitely an immersive record, so glad you dig it!

DrGonzo1937
Staff Reviewer
March 6th 2019


15209 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

All this high praise (and this review) has me wanting to check this out.

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 6th 2019


29902 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

You should, Gonz. Not sure if it's your usual style but you might really like it.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2019


8187 Comments


Heh, no sarcasm. I love using dashes too and it's been drilled into me that that the appropriate dash to use in those situations is the em-dash without spaces—like the ones bookending this part of the sentence—rather than hyphens and spaces. :]

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 6th 2019


29902 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Oh I just didn't know what they were called lol. I use them normally but I made some edits from my phone after catching a few awkward phrasings and I don't think it automatically corrects to the right kind of dash. Anyhow, I am definitely a fan of them...in fact, once you start it's kind of a hard habit to break.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
March 6th 2019


8187 Comments


Ha! Tell me about it! I have to force myself to limit their use to no more than 1 pair per paragraph. :D

CaliggyJack
March 6th 2019


2781 Comments


Congrats on 400 reviews.

I'm getting close to my 100th review and IDK how to handle that

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 6th 2019


29902 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Thanks Calligy! For any milestone I've always chosen an album I have 5'd, but you could always buck the trend and write an epic 1 review lol.

solongatlast
March 6th 2019


337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Any ideas about the switch from "you" to "her" on Night Figures? It always bugs me when lyricists switch pronouns like that because it usually just seems like an oversight, but Aaron Marsh is definitely more intentional than that.

solongatlast
March 6th 2019


337 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Wonderful review by the way.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy