Weezer The Black Album
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Point1
March 3rd 2019


749 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

High as a Kite has a nice verse by Beatlesy-descending-piano song standards. Hate the chorus though.

samwise2000
March 3rd 2019


682 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Yeah, dont think ill be giving this one more than a couple more listens. Album is just stale, and an absolute bore to listen through. Not that any of the songs are 'terrible' per say, its just that even after 3 listens the album fails to have any sort of distinctive presence, standing in the middle of the band's discography as 'just another Weezer album'. Im sure some fans will really enjoy this though, its just one of those divisive albums.

Mongi123
March 3rd 2019


20620 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Yo Piece Of Cake, Byzantine and California Snow are dreadful. Sorry Rowbro can’t get behind this review. Just cause Rivers doesn’t sing about a girl until the middle of the album doesn’t mean it should be praised for it. Production is pretty good, but most of this is either listenable yet very bland pop tracks, or horribly written stream of consciousness lyrics. Like Byzantine is horrible lol



Love you bro haha (:

cxnxrx
March 3rd 2019


11 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The hits on this album are great but the rest is kinda weak. However this is is not their worst IMO.

Ebola
March 3rd 2019


3718 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can’t Knock the Hustle, Living in LA, High as a Kite, I’m Just Being Honest, and Too Many Thoughts are 5/5 tracks. Everything else is tolerable but far from essential.

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


42891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

Just cause Rivers doesn’t sing about a girl until the middle of the album doesn’t mean it should be praised for it.




really not my point at all but ok



Byzantine's incredible, very odd pick to single out

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 3rd 2019


32888 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I dunno this is already growing off me too lol. What's incredible about Byzantine? Seems like a harmlessly enjoyable song but nothing special.

Digging: Abigail Williams - Walk Beyond The Dark

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


42891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

gorgeous chorus melody and the lyrics are lovely, it's the Summer Elaine and Drunk Dori of this album

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


8841 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Every song except High As A Kite is horrendous but damn this is a great review

Digging: Vi Som Alskade Varandra Sa Mycket - Det Onda. Det Goda. Det Vackra. Det Fula.

WeepinnWillow
March 3rd 2019


862 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

this is just...average

Digging: Dragonette - Fixin to Thrill

SowingSeason
Moderator
March 3rd 2019


32888 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Agreed on premise but I'd take Summer Elaine any day. At first nearly every song sounded bouncy and memorable, but the more I listen to it the thinner it all feels. Maybe it's just the relative absence of instrumentation. You know my taste as well as anyone and I love a good pop melody, but I think this is missing some critical backbone. Maybe more guitars would somehow make this ok? I don't know quite what it is, but White had something magical going on that this just lacks in every way. Whatever I won't hound you about it, this just isn't my cup of tea. In case I didn't mention it, your review is great as always.

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


3112 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Gave it a listen after all, Rowan, and:

You are correct. (Great, great review.)

Digging: Leonard Cohen - Thanks For The Dance

Mongi123
March 3rd 2019


20620 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Row maybe that’s not your point but it’s mentioned how it’s essential to the narrative. Like what narrative though? It’s not like any of these lyrics are intelligent at all or it’s some sort of concept album. Most of these lyrics just aren’t coherent or mature to me. “Die die you zombie bastards, we know what you want, keep on blah blah blah” then “put on your red beret, baby moonwalk naked across the room” lol I can’t man.



Agree to disagree I guess, it’s fine. Outside of Pinkerton this band was never my cup of tea. Just gotta listen to the bad every once in a while to put the great into perspective xD





Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


42891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

@Freddie fair take but that's an interesting rating for one song you like lmao

@Sowing it's not as good as Summer Elaine, of course, just thought it was a fair comparison. It warms my heart hearing Rivers be openly emotional/romantic after years of shutting himself off from his fans tbh

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
March 3rd 2019


42891 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

zombie bastards is about fans who demand the same thing from the bane over and over, the moonwalk line... literally speaks for itself. I think if you don't dismiss the lyrics out of hand but actually engage with them there's a clear narrative or at least recurring themes to be found here, as I said in the review. but if it's not for you it's not for you

JWT155
March 3rd 2019


14470 Comments


Yea I enjoy this but I don't see it higher than a 3, enjoyable tracks but when pressed against their classics, or even the white album, they don't hold much weight. Hell some of them almost sound like parody Weezer songs for how much the really triple down on the recent Weezer sound and vibe. These songs just sound over produced.

goblinilbog
March 3rd 2019


683 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Couple of songs on here I really love, few that are pretty good, and the rest alright/not bad.

nolerthebowler
March 3rd 2019


4122 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

while most people rate on a scale of 1-5, rowan rates on a scale of 4-5.

Firedust
March 3rd 2019


1176 Comments


This is definitely not as bad as people are making it to be.

BenThatsMyJamin
March 3rd 2019


2698 Comments


EEEEEXIT LIGHT

EEEEENTE... oh wrong thread



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy