Vehemence (FRA)
Par le sang versé


4.5
superb

Review

by Hawks USER (117 Reviews)
February 23rd, 2019 | 72 replies


Release Date: 02/02/2019 | Tracklist

Review Summary: Take a trip into the Middle Ages.

Music is a life saver to a lot of people. It’s one thing that gives us the ability to get lost in time. To be transported to another world via headphones or speakers or however you choose to listen. Vehemence is a French band that I just recently stumbled upon and their new album, Par le sang versé, is definitely other worldly. They mix raw black metal with traditional folk music and the end result is something extremely alluring and addicting.

The main thing that made me fall in love with this album was how immaculate and perfect they blend the lo-fi, jarring intensity of the rawest black metal you’ll hear with the sheer beauty of acoustic folk music with horns blaring while always maintaining the feeling that you’re marching through a forest looking for the ***ing holy grail. The album’s focus is on medieval folklore and things of a similar nature. While the black metal parts are indeed on the raw end of the spectrum, the production is never grating on the listener in any type of way. The savage riffs are clear and concise, the drumming is extravagant, specifically the masterful cymbal work and the acoustics are blended in without damaging the flow of the album. The vocals are an impeccable mixture of the fierce black metal squalling as well as some soaring and smooth cleans.

Par le sang versé will put you smack dab in the center of the Middle Ages. It’ll have you feel like you’re going to war to rescue the love of your life from the enemies you despise. There’s beauty and pain and everything in between. Vehemence will make you feel many different emotions throughout the almost hour long length of the album. An hour may seem like a lot to some, but not when you’re fully immersed in what you’re listening to. If you enjoy being led astray into your listening experience then Par le sang versé is definitely an album that you’ll want to check out.



Recent reviews by this author
Akasha Canticles of the Sepulchral DeitySerpent Of Gnosis As I Drink from the Infinite Well of Inebriation
Cradle of Filth ThornographyJanusz Jurga Hypnowald
AngelMaker AngelMakerMisthyrming Algleymi
user ratings (44)
3.8
excellent

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
February 23rd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Everyone jam.

DivergentThinking
February 23rd 2019


6226 Comments


Nice review dude. I’m definitely intrigued by this “black metal meets medieval folk” thing you’re talking about... I’ll go check it out today :]

Hawks
February 23rd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

YESSSSS!!! Kinda like their countrymen Peste Noire only no racist bullshit and less experimental.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2019


9157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hell yeah this sounds like fun, gonna listen asap

Digging: Bonny Light Horseman - Bonny Light Horseman

Hawks
February 23rd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I think you’ll love this bro.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2019


9157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Where can I listen to this?

Hawks
February 23rd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Prob should’ve linked in the first comment lol.



https://vehemencembm.bandcamp.com

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2019


9157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Love the clean vox so far lol, sounds like drunken chanting

Hawks
February 23rd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah the cleans are so goooooood.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2019


9157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is an absolute blast so far, ngl it honestly kinda reminds me of Protest The Hero a little

Hawks
February 23rd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really???? Lmao idk if I understand that one hahaha.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
February 23rd 2019


9157 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The relentless triumphant upbeat shredding and the folklore stuff

Hawks
February 23rd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The bm is so well excecuted here yeah but the folk parts really make it for me. They blend the styles so seemlessly though.

Nazzadan
February 23rd 2019


2289 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The French meloblack scene is so untouchable lately

Hawks
February 23rd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Nazz I knew this would be up your alley. m/

budgie
February 23rd 2019


15835 Comments


by god the worst review ive ever read in my entire life

Digging: Lunar Vacation - The Lunar Vacation EPs

Hawks
February 23rd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hey Budge. ;]

manosg
Staff Reviewer
February 23rd 2019


11772 Comments


Glad to see this one reviewed. Solid stuff.

Digging: Yoth Iria - Under His Sway

Hawks
February 23rd 2019


73729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

NIIIIIIIICE!!!

budgie
February 23rd 2019


15835 Comments


album artwork is kinda kewwww though



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy