Dream Theater Distance Over Time
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SirDrumsalot
February 22nd 2019


1835 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

People are really calling this a return to form? This is boring! Gotta give it an average just because they are obviously skilled. But skilled doesn't equal good.



TundraL5Z
February 22nd 2019


5223 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"You’re right because Alaska and Silent Circus are so shitty I never wanna jam anything by them again. Colors is dece though I’ll give them that. White Walls is still a banger."



I don't even like Alaska that much tbh, that album is way overrated, their later stuff is way better, Colors is very wanky as well and totally see the dislike for it, but in Parallax II they make their craft blend together so fantastically, it's like a different band almost

Digging: Bring Me the Horizon - Post Human: Survival Horror

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2019


12239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I love the '80s vibe of Barstool's intro.

TheNotrap
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2019


15154 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

When I heard the beginning of that song Duke came to mind

Digging: Undeath - Lesions of a Different Kind

Hawks
February 22nd 2019


73886 Comments


but in Parallax II they make their craft blend together so fantastically, it's like a different band almost

Maybe I’ll give it a shot.

veninblazer
February 22nd 2019


11755 Comments


Selkies: The Endless Obsession still bangs tbh

Krigo
February 22nd 2019


89 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

For what it's worth, it's the best album since Black Clouds and Silver Linings.



Enjoying it quite a lot.

jmazza137
February 22nd 2019


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is the first review I have done here on Sputnik, so if anyone has any feedback about what I should change for future reviews I would be very appreciative.



Thanks

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2019


12239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yo Mazza, don't write a track by track as you're listening to the album. I know you wanted to get the review out as soon as possible, and we all do that sometimes, but this is just not a good review because it's very obviously rushed. Don't describe the tracks as you're listening to them. That's one aspect, but the other is having some sort of cohesive opinion about the album as a whole and about how the songs fit within the album.

veninblazer
February 22nd 2019


11755 Comments


Yeah, that is the biggest hurdle I had to move past as a writer.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2019


12239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

We all start there. It takes everone a little while to move past the descriptive stage of writing to the analytical stage.

P0laris
February 22nd 2019


383 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Despite not being super crazy about it, I'm really fucking happy about this record. A huge improvement over their last "effort".



First track is actually pretty killer btw

Roney57
February 22nd 2019


9 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

One of the things I personally really enjoyed about this album is that John Myung wasn't buried in the mix. I can comfortably say that John Myung has never been more audible in a mix before.

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2019


12239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is possibly the best sounding DT record ever.

jmazza137
February 22nd 2019


2 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks, I appreciate that. I will definitely practice working on that and keep it in mind for the future.

Mongi123
February 22nd 2019


20950 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Solid stuff. Definitely a step on the right direction and I love Paralyzed.

CaptainDooRight
February 22nd 2019


4345 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

zzz



Djang0
February 22nd 2019


555 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is the most fun and energized they’ve sounded in a while

SitarHero
Contributing Reviewer
February 22nd 2019


12239 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

[2]

bloc
February 22nd 2019


63714 Comments


This is better than any BTBAM since TGM

Digging: Julien-K - Harmonic Disruptor



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy