Evergrey The Atlantic
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dmax28
August 25th 2019


828 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I'm stoked to see these guys live tomorrow. This was the first album I heard by them but I listened to their whole discography in preparation and The Atlantic still stands out. It's one of their most emotional and confident sounding albums, epic but relaxed. This sounds like seasoned musicians making something great. I think In Search of Truth is best and Recreation Day is second, but this new one is their best since Recreation Day imo.

KjSwantko
August 26th 2019


12037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

To me its middle of the pack Evergrey, albeit still a great record. Hymns for the Broken is by far my favorite Evergrey record of the last 15 years. Verybstoked you get to see them though! I'm kind of the resident Evergrey expert & junkie around here, but still have never seen them live though somehow!

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
December 14th 2019


15659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

We have to respect this guy's passion

Digging: Evergrey - Escape of the Phoenix

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
December 14th 2019


17492 Comments


Albums 2-5 are all fantastic

Digging: Evergrey - Escape of the Phoenix

KjSwantko
December 14th 2019


12037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They're all fantastic with the exceptions of Glorious Collision and Monday Morning Apocalypse which both mostly blow chode. Torn comes after them. The other 7 records all pretty much rule

CosmicPie
March 9th 2020


2844 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Damn, I like this a lot. Will be checking more of their discog.

KjSwantko
March 11th 2020


12037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Do it. They f'n rule. Just avoid Monday Morning Apocalypse and Glorious Collision though (mostly shit).

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
April 12th 2020


17492 Comments


Honestly I enjoy MMA even. It feels more organic and groove oriented

Really love Departure off this, esp Rikard's playing. And Henrik's solo on A Silent Arc is so good, as is Tom's on All I Have

KjSwantko
April 13th 2020


12037 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

MMA has some great ideas and groovey riffs but my 2 big complaints of it are that : 1) the production is hilariously frail, thin, and lacking balls. 2) the songs are underwritten and uninspired. Kind of feels like their Reload to me, where they just threw an album together and went through the motions.

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2020


17492 Comments


Anyone watching the livestream? Kj?

MARK OF THE TRIANGLE HOLY FUCK!!

OmairSh
Contributing Reviewer
June 27th 2020


17492 Comments


Wtf this setlist is actually way better than I expected!

TheNotrap
Staff Reviewer
February 26th 2021


15659 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm going to dive into the new album this morning

Dmax28
February 26th 2021


828 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Serious Omnium Gatherum Soul Journeys vibes in the bridge of Stories. Nice!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy