Better Oblivion Community Center Better Oblivion Community Center
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Slex
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


7863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Maybe

It's a chore that the best songs are the last 2

Digging: We Are Only Human Once - The Prettiest Boys in Town

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 26th 2019


31919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was going to criticize Conor as a vocalist and make that the reason for this being good as opposed to a borderline classic, but then I listened to the first few tracks again and realized Bridgers would not be able to carry the punchier verses. Honestly both of them are needed to make this work.

Digging: Off With Their Heads - Be Good

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


7863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Connor is better than Phoebe here imho (obviously not vocally but other than that)

Dominos is so damn perfect and works so well for both of them, what a tease

DoofDoof
January 26th 2019


4828 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

The last songs are the best songs [2]

Atari
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


24840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

To whoever said Conor hasn’t made good music in 10 years, check “Ruminations”



I get that his vocals are more of an acquired taste but honestly he sounds fantastic here imo



“Big Black Heart” and “ Dominos” are stellar, but the first half has “Dylan Thomas” and “Service Road” so idk. The first four tracks are basically perfect, “Sleepwalkin’” is a new favorite

Digging: Off With Their Heads - Be Good

ButtBoy
January 26th 2019


4265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Yeah my top three currently are Dylan Thomas, Service Road, and Big Black Heart. But it changes every day haha. Great stuff here, I’d be very surprised if this didn’t make my Top 25 at the end of the year

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


15788 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The first four tracks are basically perfect [2]

Cormano
January 26th 2019


1518 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

a day before this dropped someone on a phoebe bridgers fb group hyped me as hell saying sleepwalkin was supposed to be a modest mouse cover and i totally fell for it lmao



that being said, i think it should be noted that dominos is actually a cover track, dont think thats being mentioned

dmathias52
January 26th 2019


729 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is one of those albums that every track is pretty much a 4/5, but it's so consistent and repayable that the whole has to get bumped up. Didn't Know What I Was In For, Service Road, and Dominos are my favorites, but the whole thing is so so good.

Digging: Tyler Childers - Country Squire

dbizzles
January 26th 2019


13349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

To whoever said Conor hasn’t made good music in 10 years, check “Ruminations”



I may; not sure I've heard anything from it, tbh. Full disclosure though, I've never loved anything he's done aside from a few songs here and there in the Bright Eyes glory days. I'm not sure what it is. His voice shouldn't deter me, because I love Tim Kasher, but I think his delivery is kind of off-putting and I found some of the newer songs I have heard to be pretty boring.

Pheromone
January 26th 2019


7185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I haven't delved in too deep just yet, but I can't say I get the hype

Digging: Purple Mountains - Purple Mountains

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


7863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Me and you both bud

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


56891 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I really wish I liked Connor Oberst

Lucman
January 26th 2019


3071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'd never heard of the guy before this but his voice fits this sound to a T.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


24840 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

Lucman you must listen to Bright Eyes. Fevers and Mirrors and I’m Wide Awake It’s Morning are essential

Lucman
January 26th 2019


3071 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Sweet. Will get on them!

Pheromone
January 26th 2019


7185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I honestly don't think Orbest is much of a lyricist

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


7863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well....our agreement ends there lol

Pheromone
January 26th 2019


7185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It was a good run bruh

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


7863 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Nevr 4get

Anyways y'all this is still totally meh after listening a bunch today



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy