Better Oblivion Community Center Better Oblivion Community Center
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


17919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review Atari. I am half way through this and not feeling it much yet.

Digging: Post Animal - Forward Motion Godyssey

zaruyache
January 26th 2019


21914 Comments


more Phoebe Bridgers is always a good thing so i suppose i have to check this

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


17919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yep, finished it and deleted right away. Can't stand the lad, I'll resort to Strangers when I need my Bridgers fix.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


25411 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

thx Blush and Dewi :]



yeah, "Service Road" is fantastic. Also starting to reaallly love "Dominos" as far as the Oberst-heavy tracks go. Such outstanding lyrics

Digging: Spanish Love Songs - Brave Faces Everyone

Minushuman24
January 26th 2019


2514 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sleepwalkin' is so good.

Digging: Hop Along - Get Disowned

JohnnyoftheWell
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


21297 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Digging this a lot more than I expected, great stuff

Digging: Jida - Lucid

Lucman
January 26th 2019


3818 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I might prefer the overall sound of this record over Stranger, despite that record having better highs.

Digging: The Bathers - Kelvingrove Baby

dustandnations
January 26th 2019


149 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As far as surprise drops go, this absolutely rules. Dylan Thomas is so simple but so so good.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


17549 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I see how it is Atari :c

" Can't stand the lad, I'll resort to Strangers when I need my Bridgers fix." as long as the problem sin't with Bridgers we're good

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


3159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Neeka, my friend, look away: (on repeat listens, I think a lot of these songs work better than those on Stranger; Phoebe brings the voice (and personality), Conor brings the writing (and personality), and the two really bring out each other's strengths).

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


43232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

yeah this is a better album tbh. the fleshed-out band sound and production are exactly what she needed to not get repetitive

Digging: Tame Impala - The Slow Rush

Dewinged
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


17919 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah neek, I am really sorry to rain on everyone's parade this is a nope for me. A 2.5 was probably too harsh though.

GreyShadow
January 26th 2019


3660 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sleepwalkin' and Dylan Thomas back to back is like the greatest song combo on an album ever.

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 26th 2019


33347 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Stranger in the Alps is a masterpiece. This is really good but for me there's no comparison.

Digging: Tame Impala - The Slow Rush

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


43232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

it's aged kinda poorly tbh. there's only two-three songs I really want to listen to anymore; the rest are all arranged into their most sanitised and radio-friendly possible version (Motion Sickness/Georgia/Chelsea are all better as demos) or were never all that good (Would You Rather/Demi Moore). I think she has the capability to make a truly great album and sonically this is much closer to being that

dbizzles
January 26th 2019


13866 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I hate to cast a judgment early but I have a hard time believing this is good. I like Phoebe but I haven’t heard anything good from Conor in 10 years.

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 26th 2019


33347 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

It might help that I don't often revisit Stranger, because every time I listen it sounds just as fresh and pristine.

The songwriting here is more memorable, but sonically I'd give the edge to Stranger.

Don't get me wrong I appreciate both records...my opinion is basically just flipped on everything you said lol.

Slex
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


9217 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Chesapeake is staggeringly boring, it's made me turn the album off twice lol

The rest is decent with some great stuff, this is mega overrated

Digging: King Krule - Man Alive!

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


43232 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

nah chief, you'll love this in two months lol

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 26th 2019


33347 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Is possible based on certain events



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy