Better Oblivion Community Center Better Oblivion Community Center
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Dewinged
January 25th 2019


14479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review Atari. I am half way through this and not feeling it much yet.

Digging: Chasms - The Mirage

zaruyache
January 25th 2019


20386 Comments


more Phoebe Bridgers is always a good thing so i suppose i have to check this

Digging: Forest - Like a Blaze Above the Ashes

Dewinged
January 25th 2019


14479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yep, finished it and deleted right away. Can't stand the lad, I'll resort to Strangers when I need my Bridgers fix.

Atari
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2019


24235 Comments

Album Rating: 4.4

thx Blush and Dewi :]



yeah, "Service Road" is fantastic. Also starting to reaallly love "Dominos" as far as the Oberst-heavy tracks go. Such outstanding lyrics

Digging: Millencolin - SOS

Minushuman24
January 25th 2019


2049 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sleepwalkin' is so good.

JohnnyoftheWell
January 25th 2019


12713 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Digging this a lot more than I expected, great stuff

Lucman
January 25th 2019


1929 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I might prefer the overall sound of this record over Stranger, despite that record having better highs.

Digging: Copeland - Blushing

dustandnations
January 26th 2019


6 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

As far as surprise drops go, this absolutely rules. Dylan Thomas is so simple but so so good.

neekafat
January 26th 2019


14323 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I see how it is Atari :c

" Can't stand the lad, I'll resort to Strangers when I need my Bridgers fix." as long as the problem sin't with Bridgers we're good

BlushfulHippocrene
Contributing Reviewer
January 26th 2019


2760 Comments


Neeka, my friend, look away: (on repeat listens, I think a lot of these songs work better than those on Stranger; Phoebe brings the voice (and personality), Conor brings the writing (and personality), and the two really bring out each other's strengths).

Digging: Wicca Phase Springs Eternal - Suffer On

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


41225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

yeah this is a better album tbh. the fleshed-out band sound and production are exactly what she needed to not get repetitive

Digging: Copeland - Blushing

Dewinged
January 26th 2019


14479 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah neek, I am really sorry to rain on everyone's parade this is a nope for me. A 2.5 was probably too harsh though.

GreyShadow
January 26th 2019


2850 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Sleepwalkin' and Dylan Thomas back to back is like the greatest song combo on an album ever.

Digging: Better Oblivion Community Center - Better Oblivion Community Center

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 26th 2019


29585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Stranger in the Alps is a masterpiece. This is really good but for me there's no comparison.

Digging: Copeland - Blushing

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


41225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

it's aged kinda poorly tbh. there's only two-three songs I really want to listen to anymore; the rest are all arranged into their most sanitised and radio-friendly possible version (Motion Sickness/Georgia/Chelsea are all better as demos) or were never all that good (Would You Rather/Demi Moore). I think she has the capability to make a truly great album and sonically this is much closer to being that

dbizzles
January 26th 2019


12854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I hate to cast a judgment early but I have a hard time believing this is good. I like Phoebe but I haven’t heard anything good from Conor in 10 years.

Digging: Archgoat - Whore of Bethlehem

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 26th 2019


29585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It might help that I don't often revisit Stranger, because every time I listen it sounds just as fresh and pristine.

The songwriting here is more memorable, but sonically I'd give the edge to Stranger.

Don't get me wrong I appreciate both records...my opinion is basically just flipped on everything you said lol.

Slex
January 26th 2019


5627 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Chesapeake is staggeringly boring, it's made me turn the album off twice lol

The rest is decent with some great stuff, this is mega overrated

Digging: Every Time I Die - From Parts Unknown

Rowan5215
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


41225 Comments

Album Rating: 4.2

nah chief, you'll love this in two months lol

SowingSeason
Moderator
January 26th 2019


29585 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Is possible based on certain events



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2017 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy