Better Oblivion Community Center Better Oblivion Community Center
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Moderator
January 25th 2019


32079 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I thought this album was special enough to fight through my bad case of writer's block"

I was pleasantly surprised to see that you ended up covering this. Didn't know if anyone else would, so I'm glad you powered through it.

Digging: Lana Del Rey - Norman Fucking Rockwell

DoofDoof
January 25th 2019


5111 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Quite like the approach and mix of voices, will return, for now nothing stood out above 3 out of 5 quality.

Trebor.
Staff Reviewer
January 25th 2019


56931 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

PHOEBE BRIDGERS

Digging: Daniel Johnston - Songs of Pain

donttakeapicture
January 25th 2019


59 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Amazing album

GreyShadow
January 25th 2019


3350 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

still have yet to listen to the whole boygenius EP and it's probably going to stay that way considering how obsessed I am with this album.



This could totally be a 4.5 for me but we'll sit on it for a few months. Outstanding album

NoSons
January 25th 2019


152 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I wasn't super into Phoebe Bridgers' solo record. It had a lot of great appeal but at times I would become really zoned out listening to it.



This is much more focused, there's more clear thematic approached here. This is really great.

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2019


16745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

None of these tracks is a 4.5/5 for me, let alone a 5/5 yet

I'm loving this thing but it's more consistently great than offering up highlights that can rival what's hitting me in Stangers at any given moment, hoping the individual tracks will grow on me more though like they did on her debut

Wildhoney
January 25th 2019


444 Comments


Phoebe seems to like collaborating and she does a pretty damn fine job at it. Wonder if she'll do another collab next or maybe another solo album?

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2019


16745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Awesome review btw Atari (:



in b4 anti-hype tanks this album score

donttakeapicture
January 25th 2019


59 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Pheobe has said in an interview with Conor she wants to do more Boygenuis stuff as well as release more solo material

reverendgreen95
January 25th 2019


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is at least as good as I was hoping it would be, two of my favorite artists. Might not be a hard 5 but i'm keeping it for now. My City is a phenomenal song.

Taxt
January 25th 2019


1354 Comments


Stoked to check this out

neekafat
Contributing Reviewer
January 25th 2019


16745 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Kinda surprised everyone is liking this so much/isn't being cynical yet

ProjectFreak
January 25th 2019


3876 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Phoebe is pretty widely liked on sputnik

Digging: Infinity Shred - Forever, A Fast Life

DivergentThinking
January 25th 2019


6226 Comments


True, but I'm not sure I agree with this being more highly rated than Stranger in the Alps. It's a great album from what I've heard so far, but Stranger is on its own plane entirely

Lucman
January 25th 2019


3185 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is a great surprise.

Digging: Courtney Swain - Between Blood and Ocean

Veldin
January 25th 2019


3873 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Had an article about this collab recommended to me because of my love for Oberst yesterday. Happy to see this project getting recognition. I've never heard Bridgers music before, but some of the lyrics come off as INITIALLY cringy and her vocals haven't swayed me. I'll have to keep listening to the album though. I read that Oberst said it was inspiring to hang out with her and her friends and play music so I'm glad it was a positive project for Conor. Really wanting a new Bright Eyes album since the last was '11, but he has put out a lot of material (solo, Desparecidos, etc) since then so I can't complain. His new single "No One Changes" is a hoot

widowslaugh123
January 25th 2019


1571 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

This is ok

Ebola
January 25th 2019


3642 Comments


this slap

BlushfulHippocrene
Staff Reviewer
January 26th 2019


3015 Comments


Oh man, what a lovely review from a lovely man. Service Road is fantastic, I agree. Don't know what I think about the rest yet, but that song is so good I don't even care.

Digging: Ruston Kelly - Dying Star



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2019 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Terms of Use | Privacy Policy